Rating Summary

4.2 / 130 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Star
    0
  • 0 Stars
    0
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th February 2018
Shackleton hall is the central hub for the vale village and by far the most social as you'll find people coming from all over to use the facilities here, namely the costcutter, the melt and the pub. It's good, although rooms are outdated and mine in particular is very small compared with flatmates'. Meal plan is also useful if you don't want to cook, but the value for money is poor especially if you buy sandwiches and you will have to cook to make it through the week, and I don't see the benefit of using mealplan at infusion rather than just using a debit card at checkout.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
David Thomas's picture

David Thomas

19th January 2018
Elgar Court- The Call An 'on campus' accommodation that's still nearly a 25 minute walk from main campus. Huge rooms and really nice kitchen . All been redone in late 2017. Don't go on meal plan , youll save money buying your own food
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
I lived in maple bank which is the cheapest option. The kitchen is tiny so not great for cooking but you can get by, just don’t all try to cook at the same time! Very sociable halls, there’s always something going on. We tended to have pres out in the hallways. Would recommend if on a budget
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
I lived on the tennis courts, the vale for a year and it was such a sociable place to spend first year. You’d meet so many new people and was perfect for a first year accommodation.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Stayed at Shackleton. Really modern facilities and spacious rooms. Had a huge double corner room which was amazing needless to say. Ensuite as well which was nice. Bit far from medschool (25min walk) but the hub of social events.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Ayo Ajayi's picture

Ayo Ajayi

17th November 2017
about 15 mins from uni not too bad, i moved in when the building was just opened which wasnt ideal as there were still many issues
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

30th December 2017
Stayed in Elgar court. Excellent hall with en suite and a nice kitchen. Has a nice lake and close laundry service. However, is located quite distant from the university.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

30th December 2017
I was in Maple Bank, in the Vale Village. It is currently the cheapest accommodation and was well worth the money. It was a very basic and standard living space but it had everything you needed and the most lively social atmosphere. I met a lot of my friends there who I still am goo friends with now and was one of the best parts of my university first year. The Vale Village has such a safe atmosphere too and beautiful green grounds, as well as a large lake to walk around and admire. The walk to campus is quite long compared to other universities and accommodations but I grew to love it! It was good exercise and a good time to let your mind wander but also where you saw many of your friends walking to or back from campus.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
I spent my first year in Tennis Courts in the Vale Village 2015/16. I was in one of the newly refurbished blocks, I lived in a flat of 5 in a block of about 30 of us. My room was clean and fairly spacious with a single bed, all rooms in the block are the same size/layout. The common kitchen/sitting area was fairly small when you have parties or guests but did the job for us 5. Compared to other UoB accommodation, Tennis Courts was by far the most sociable, there were always parties etc and everyone just seemed to want to socialise. For the price I would say it's the best option for UoB accommodation. Maple bank in comparison is too small, and other accommodation then gets more expensive. Location is about 15 min walk from the University and also a train station, so it is a bit far away from actual central Birmingham, but you feel super safe and it's a definite community vibe.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Elgar Court - accomodation was brilliant, used to be self-catered but moved to meal plan, leaving you with a massive communal living space. Rooms were a very nice size, probably larger than mason or chamberlain (and cheaper than both) but single beds. Ensuites were good as well. Lots of social events between rooms as well as all the Freshers events both on the vale and at the guild. Also very close to Broad Street where pretty much all the clubs are.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd January 2018
The Vale overall is great and I would fully recommend it. The setting is beautiful with the lake, you feel really safe and it's only 15 minutes walk to campus. I was in Mason halls which are really nice and well equipped. The only thin I'd say is for what you are paying there isn't much storage in the room and there's no table in the kitchen which is a bit annoying. My flat wasn't that sociable but i think that was just unfortunate as most people i know got on really well with their flatmates and did loads of stuff together. The Vale has everything you need with places to do laundry, a pub/bar, a little shop, outdoor picnic tables and parking available if you get a permit.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
The Kitchen means that the social side of the flats isn’t overly brilliant. Rooms are loud on a night often and wet rooms flood easily. On the plus convenient to walk to everywhere with easy access to the canal, uni campus. Overall not bad value for money but there are many improvements that could easily be made to make it better.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
The location is very good being a 15 minute walk to the university main campus and university train station. It is also between a 30-45 minute walk to the centre of Birmingham and also to Harborne which is convenient, as this allows you to see a variety of different shops. The room is decent, although the walls aren't great as paint has been peeled off and the walls have holes in from previous students - the could do with filling and repainting. The three quart beds aren't particularly worth it, and the room is laid out in an awkward position initially, although a group of us have realised you can rotate the bed making the room a lot easier to live in. This is one convenience of having furniture in the room that is fully moveable. Not an excess of storage in the room but enough to get by on. Bathrooms flood which can be an inconvenience when wanting to have a quick shower as you have to clean up straight away or have the peril of wet feet. There can be a lot of noise and the kitchens aren't a particularly social place due to the arrangement of the eating area. However nightlife is good and there are always event posters being put through our door.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Mason was a close walk to campus and all the facilities were pretty good. However, the wifi and sometimes the water didn't always work which was quite annoying.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th December 2017
The whole place feels like a real community. The facilities team is quick with repairs and any issues. The flats are in good condition.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Really nice set around a really pretty lake, lots of different accommodations and lots of space. Tennis courts is fairly cheap and very nice. However meal plan is definitely not worth it. About 15/20 mins to campus and probably 25 mins up Aldi about 25 in the other direction to Morrisons.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
I stayed in Maple Bank on the vale which was my first choice. Maple bank is a very cheap student accommodation at around 3500 for the academic year, but I think it provided everything we needed for a first year of university. The kitchens are well sized for 5 people, there was surplus furniture and 2 bathrooms. The only thing I would say is the single bed was extremely uncomfortable but with such cheap accommodation I don’t think you can complain. You start to appreciate halls once you move to selly oak!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

31st December 2017
Chamberlain Hall at The Vale Village is a new, albeit not perfect place to live. The construction quality is poor, the fittings and fixtures are cheap, and there were a huge array of issues during my time in the hall. The building is situated a long way away from anything else, up a hill. The only food and shops available nearby are extremely expensive and vastly overpriced.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Living on the Vale was great - loads of students live there so there's a great community spirit and it's a short walk from campus. There's a range of accommodation too - I lived in Maple Bank which was the cheapest and most basic but it was fine for what I needed.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Stayed at Tennis Courts near the Vale, in a flat of 4 other people and in a block of 30 in total. Bathrooms were shared between each flat. Overall the kitchen and living area was well sized, the bathrooms were more than good enough and the bedrooms were of a reasonable size with a large desk. Location is also ideal being 10-15 mins from Uni.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Pages