Rating Summary

3.4 / 16 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Star
    1
  • 0 Stars
    0
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd January 2018
Looking at the reviews from previous years, I was horrified. Rats, unsociable and far from campus. But it really isn’t that bad. It’s right by the train station and the bus stop which makes trips into town (especially food shops with all your heavy bags) a lot easier. The walk to campus isn’t far and you get to walk through Falmer Square which has loads of things going on like a Farmers Market and fresh street food every Tuesday. The rooms themselves are reasonable and clean. Despite living with all boys, the place was never appalling partly due to the regular cleaning provided by the accommodation. As for the social life, it is what you make it. No social life is going to come to you just because of what accommodation you’re in. Make friends and get out there, after a few drinks you won’t mind the walks to other accommodations and you’re sure to make friends within Stanmer too. Overall, it’s pretty good and also, no rats yet.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The actual bedroom is great and bigger than some of the northfield and swanborough rooms, and the ensuite is not as modern as the other accommodations but it does the job and I loved it. Stanmer tends to be really unsocial - unlike all my friends in other accommodations everyone just kept themselves to themselves. Location wise it's great to be so close to the train station, however you are separated from all of the other student accommodations - it's not the end of the world as it takes all of 10-15 minutes to walk to the other end of campus so it's not like you aren't able to go and see friends, but it's something to think about when picking accommodations.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
George Turpie's picture

George Turpie

2nd January 2018
Big bedrooms, kitchen is big, decent chairs all ensuite not bad mate. 6 people in a flat which is nice and some high quality kurtains. Eduroam tho.... block b 45E is best room ??
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Kathleen Simon's picture

Kathleen Simon

11th February 2018
Stanmer is a peculiar place, there are not crazy parties and it is a little isolated from campus as its across the motorway underpassage. But for me, someone who has trouble sleeping and doesn't love noisy nights it was really ideal for me. You get an ensuite and it is really nice. You get a cleaner every week and honestly, I wouldn't change halls for anything. I know it is harder to make friends or go to parties in the accommodation, but you end up making friends from east slope and nothfields anyway! It isn't for everyone, some people might find it boring, but the facilities are the best I think, with a whole washing and dryer area! There's a games room too but not many people use it. The heating is amazing!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
The location was great, could've been a little closer to campus. The facilities improved during my time there and were getting much better. There were a few social areas allowing for socialising between flats. And my room, although a little small, was quite nice and had a view over a social area.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Expensive but well alright the kitchen was a really good size but there were rats around lots of rats The boy next door was annoying and the pool table was broken for half the year and the WiFi was bad
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th February 2018
The kitchen is sparse. Things don’t get repaired like the ventilator in my bathroom has been broken for 4 months now. I wouldn’t recommend living here. Porters are unkind.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th February 2018
Really lovely accommodation, rooms and kitchen really nice however very in social, have not met anyone in the halls
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th June 2018
Location is right next to the station which is useful as can be used to get into Brighton, however it does take around 10 minutes to get onto campus. Can feel somewhat excluded, however is generally quiet. Staff very helpful, and any problems will be solved quickly. Room is spacious and has all facilities needed, kitchen can become very dirty depending on who you are living with.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th April 2018
Nice enough rooms, ensuite etc, with a laundrette on site, rubbish social element though, I got lucky with my room mates but a lot would never come out of their rooms
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Kathleen Simon's picture

Kathleen Simon

11th February 2018
Stanmer is a peculiar place, there are not crazy parties and it is a little isolated from campus as its across the motorway underpassage. But for me, someone who has trouble sleeping and doesn't love noisy nights it was really ideal for me. You get an ensuite and it is really nice. You get a cleaner every week and honestly, I wouldn't change halls for anything. I know it is harder to make friends or go to parties in the accommodation, but you end up making friends from east slope and nothfields anyway! It isn't for everyone, some people might find it boring, but the facilities are the best I think, with a whole washing and dryer area! There's a games room too but not many people use it. The heating is amazing!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th November 2018
Location is okay simply due to the fact that it is 1min from Falmer station. Rooms are average. Social areas are lackluster/non existent.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th November 2018
My room was bigger than expected and the kitchen was big, I had everything I needed in the kitchen and the room but the social area was out of order over half of the year and the laundry room was expensive
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Yewande Ogundeji's picture

Yewande Ogundeji

10th November 2018
Not too far from main campus but is very far compared to other accommodations. Very social this year, there's always something going on & I meet new people everyday. Room size is decent but kitchen quality is very good. 24 hour reception is helpful.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th November 2018
The location is perfect for me as it's near the train station and bus stop but if you are someone who gets easily disturbed by the trains then probably it's not best for you. The facilities and social experience are good as well.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th November 2018
I have really enjoyed living in stanmer court. It's located in a really convenient place as it is right next to the train and bus station and a short walk to lecture theatres. Also has a laundary facility which is great!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th November 2018
Stanmer Court was overall a nice accommodation experience, with some minor flaws. Starting off with the positives, this accommodation has a laundry room which is very convenient and not all other halls have one. Stanmer is right by the train station and the "falmer station" bus stop (going directly downtown) so it's very fast easy to get downtown quickly. Of course it's also an en-suite accomodation so all rooms have private bathrooms. On the other hand, the rooms were not that pretty inside, with some flats (mine) being in the basement (floor -1) making it very depressing, dark and ugly. My window had a "view" of a small hill (much like a wall) and the shared kitchen had only one tiny window letting almost no light in. This accommodation is also on the other side of the road from the main campus, connected by a tunnel, making it quite a long walk from the rest of the accommodation buildings and the co-op.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: