Rating Summary

3.2 / 59 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Star
    5
  • 0 Stars
    0
Transport: 
Shopping: 
Nights out: 
Eating out: 
Value for money: 
Entertainment: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
Theres only one club in Hatfield, the forum, it's ok, bit urban for me though. Having said that considering its run by the SU and it's on campus it's pretty amazing compared to other unis.. the only food shopping places in walking distance are Asda and the co-op (couldn't do propperly shop at co-op though). Value for money is pretty good, but then I was brought up also in the south outside of London... There's a reasonably sized shopping centre, the Galleria, which although offers a lot still seems to be nothing there...? There's an odeon and a few decentish chain restaurants (F&Bs, Prezzo to name a few). Town itself is not the most picturesque, has been described as "one big council estate" by some (possibly a bit harsh). Rail connection to London is good, national rail, but takes like 20, 25 min to get to kings cross. Also there's a weatherspoons and the on campus SU bar/pub Ele House which are both very reasonable.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

9th February 2018
The nights out are so dead everything in Hatfield is shit but the food cost and everything around is very close which is why it makes everything really really convenient so that’s abe edit but the rest about the University of Hertfordshire is dead
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
Huge range of eatery places. Plus I haven't really explored any nights out there due to the expensive transport costs.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th January 2018
pretty decent are. people keep to their selves but are generally friendly. an array of shops are available for various different needs whether it be clothes or food. this is particularly helpful especially as i come from London which is a big city and flooded with a variety of outlets.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
You have the galleria just across from the university which has many food places and some shops. Great links into London and surrounding areas with train station very close and bus links.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

11th March 2018
Its a bit dull, anyone who goes there would agree the forum can get a bit boring after a while and there not much else going on in Hatfield. Although there always fun to be had if you dig a little deeper.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
Not bad university, the town has its ups and downs. Theres not a lot to do there but study. Its got a 25 minute train into direct London but apart from that you're left to Hatfield and its not so nice people. If you're a fan of crime and the constant stench of cannabis then Hatfield is your place to be. Apart from that the Uni is nice, if you stick to the campus and London for the full 3 years then you'll be stab-free.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

9th March 2018
I chose the University because of its proximity to London, without the London rental fees. Unfortunately, the town itself isn't all that pleasant and there is only one nightclub, the University's!
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Alex Smith's picture

Alex Smith

11th March 2018
Night outs aren’t very good as there are no places to go however the elehouse does make up for it at times
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

12th March 2018
Hatfield as a location is great short train ride away from London which makes quick shopping trips or gigging trip easy but there is a lot of shopping in Hatfield. The town centre has a variety of shops including Asda and nearer to the uni you have the Galleria a outlet shopping centre filled with everything you need from clothing to food with a cinema and a Waterstones for any reading needs. Unfortunately the Hatfield Nightlife leaves much to be desired the only venues in Hatfield are on campus if you want other venues there is Batchwood in St. Alban's or the next best place is Watford. Traveling in Hatfield isn't difficult with Uno buses running throughout the town connecting you to the station and all other locations of interest.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th February 2018
My whole experience is extremely wonderful. Nights out in Hatfield are always fun especially with the massive shopping centre you can go to. There’s a variety of activities you can find and 100% value for money.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th March 2018
I picked the uni because it was one of the top 3 courses in the world for my area of study. It also is in a brilliant location for having connections to the industry and finding jobs after graduating
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

23rd February 2018
Getting to Hatfield on public transport is a nightmare. The bus service that operates in the Hatfield region is by far the worst bus service I have ever used in my 20 years on this planet. The town is very small and there isn’t much to do. There’s a great big Asda for your local food shop but that’s as good as it gets. No close by shopping centre, they have something called a galleria which is a combination of stores that no one usually shops in anyways? The town isn’t too bad looking, when you hit the country lanes to get out of there. Would I reccomend anyone to move there? No. There isn’t a big variety of places to eat and especially for people who can only eat certain meats due to religious reasons. They would have to travel at least 5/10 miles out to get some half decent grub. As a uni student I would say living there is way too expensive and isn’t great value for money.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th March 2018
Location of uni is decent for me as it's only half an hour from home. Although buses should run more often from Hatfield
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

12th June 2018
Rubbish shopping, no night life, food shops are a bit of a trek, especially when you're having to carry shopping bags
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
daniel sear's picture

daniel sear

10th June 2018
One of the reasons i chose my uni was because it had a lot of things going on but still felt very rural, which was very interesting coming from a country boy. with only a few places to drink it can feel a bit boring, but luckily London is only 20 minutes away when ever we get bored of the same routine.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st June 2018
Hatfield is a very small and quiet place. This makes it feel like a really safe place to live which i like, I can go for a mcflurry at 2am and not feel like I'm unsafe. Because Hatfield is small it means that everything you need is in touching distance e.g. shops, asda, cinema, restaurants are all a short walk away. The issue is, if you want anything more you have to go further afield to watford or stevenage which is not ideal.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st June 2018
The area is quiet but full of students. The shopping centre is in a good location for us all to get to. Nightlife is good with many bars to go to also. Many shops that give student discount.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th August 2018
There is only one club at university of Hertfordshire. I chose this uni to commute so for me it’s ideal but it’s a pretty quiet area with not a lot to do.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th June 2018
Hatfield is a small town filled with students - which I suppose is a good thing as everyone is in the same boat. There’s a small outlet shopping centre where you can find your main bits if you need clothes, utensils etc and a mixture of grocery stores near by which is amazing. It’s a very small town, nothing to do however. There’s one club whiccis on the university campus, whiccis only open certain nights, and gets a bit boring. Overall it’s an ok area, boring though. Can get a cab anywhere in Hatfield with aa taxi’s for £3.99 though!
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 

Pages