Rating Summary

3.7 / 32 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Star
    1
  • 0 Stars
    0
Transport: 
Shopping: 
Nights out: 
Eating out: 
Value for money: 
Entertainment: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st February 2018
Ok. Not a nice place in town centre but out in the country areas it is lovely brilliant views Also close to Manchester, Leeds etc with transport to and from so good for days out too
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Plenty of pubs / bars, enough shops to get everything you need but there’s also Leeds which is a 20min train ride away which has everything and is really nice. There are also some nice little coffee shops and the Peak District is really close if you like the outdoors.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Has quite a few food places and night life is okay on some nights. I mainly like it here tho because it's where my family is lol
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Selection of places to eat is quite good. Shopping isn’t to bad I can usually get everything I need. Personally I don’t think it’s a good night out it is quite expensive or not very good.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th March 2018
Nights out- variety of different bars and clubs, can become repetitive but still really enjoyable! Food- many different takeaways and minimal varied resteraunts, including your obvious Nando’s, Pizza Hut and spoons etc! Shopping- can always find what you’re looking for, there is the popular shops for both male and female!
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
The location of Huddersfield is great, the uni is close to the town with a great selection of stores
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

19th March 2018
Huddersfield is a strange place... with everything being split into either the best things or the worst things. With some really cool places to chill and walk around but also many places you would rather avoid. Huddersfields night life looks relatively bog standard on the surface with the usual kind of night clubs and bars that you'd expect to find in any sizeable town however when you look in the right places you'll find a huge and vibrant underground scene of electronic music and dub reggae
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th July 2018
Huddersfield is a great University location. The town isn't too big, which can have it's downfalls when it come to eating out, shopping in nightlife but it catet to students very well. There's plenty of places offering student discounts with more opening up every year. The university itself is nice and compact, so students don't need to go on huge walks to get to their next lectures. For those wanting to explore the local area there are some great walks with amazing views for miles. Castle Hill is a popular one for sunny days an BBQs. Overall, I would rate the location at 4*s .
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th June 2018
Great nights out, clubs aren’t always the busiest but they always have cheap drinks. Food is great with lots of Jamaican restaurants and also a number of chains with reasonable prices. There’s not a massive amount of things to do but there is a shopping centre with lots of shops, parks and walks and a leisure centre all close to the town centre.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Sarah Pemberton's picture

Sarah Pemberton

28th June 2018
Absolutely love the town, so much so I be stayed here after uni! Great place, lovely people. Would 100% recommend.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th June 2018
Very good value for money and uni is in town centre which is convenient, good nighthlife and many events organised by uni
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th April 2018
Lovely quiet place to live with nice people and nice areas. Not busy and has all local amenities at your doorstep.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

17th April 2018
The University it’s self is adequate, the town however is just not made for students. It’s scruffy and the night life reflects that. There are a few decent bars and the rest of the night clubs are just full of basic people with no idividuality. It’s rubbish compared to the likes of Leeds, Manchester or Newcastle. it’s very rough I don’t always feel safe when walking back to my flat and I don’t feel that as a town it is booming with students it seems to be filled with older people and a few students. The shops are ok. to say is a university though I would expect them to have the likes of Zara or even Primark! I just do not like living here I’m definitely jealous of my friends that chose another city. I’m only here because of the course I want to do but I would say I spend the majority of time with my old friends at home or visiting them at uni than I do in actual Huddersfield because it just isn’t for me. If I could now this course to a different city I 100% would. The only thing that is brilliant is the transport you can get everywhere from Huddersfield quickly and if not leeds isn’t far off anyway. You can get to Scarborough, Manchester, Liverpool etc.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th April 2018
The town is very nice it’s a mixture of cheap student shops and nice shops. We are surrounded by countryside so there are so many nice walks and runs to go on. On the train too it’s also a great adventure :)
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd May 2018
Huddersfield Uni Is amazing. Nights out are always eventful. And the faculty are the best in their own ways.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th May 2018
The overall area of the university is amazing. Everything is close to each other making trips out into the centre so easy. The train station is also only 5 minutes away from the university, making is super convenient. There are a range of shops, restaurants and overall places to visit within the town.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

4th December 2018
Less choice in terms of bars, clubs and restaurants but other cities are close by and transport links are very good. There is a lot of accomodation options in the centre and close to the uni, the majority of which are pretty cheap.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

4th December 2018
As a smaller student town there is less choice in terms of clubs, bars, restaurants and shops. However transport to Leeds and Manchester is very good and the town is generally quieter with a lot of options for student accommodation. It's very cheap.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

4th December 2018
Quite place Nice views Good university Small town center with essential shops and easy access for students
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

4th December 2018
4 and a half years ago, I moved from a small town in Norfolk to Huddersfield for University - and I have not looked back once. Food wise, you can find almost any cuisine you want to find, all within a ten minute drive or twenty minute walk of the town centre - I've found cuisines I'd never eaten before! Night life, while not quite city-worthy, offers you a range of clubs, pubs and bars for whatever your taste may be; whether you like to dress up or be casual. Similarly, between the Kingsgate shopping centre and the town centre roads, most high street chains have a place - even if just inside of the house of Fraser. Same as coffee shops and cafe's, there's something for everyone. Where this town falls a little short, however, is the limited activities to do within close proximity to the town. Laser tag can be done within a ten minute walk, but it would take at least half an hour to walk to bowling. There are multiple escape rooms in the town centre and just on the edge, but if you wish to play mini golf or go rock climbing, you will have to go out to brighouse or castleford. Overall, a decent value for money if you have a car, or are willing to take a couple of buses out to activities. Despite this, train links to neighbouring towns and cities are frequent and fairly pleasant.
Transport: 
Eating out: 
Shopping: 
Value for money: 
Nights out: 
Entertainment: 

Pages