Rating Summary

3.9 / 45 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Star
    0
  • 0 Stars
    0
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

24th April 2018
Location is great and you do get an en suite bathroom however the fan does'nt work and you have to keep the door shut after you shower which takes ages for all the mist to condensate and clear. There is also a massive issue with bugs, silverfish in particular they are EVERYWHERE. It's so disgusting I even started finding them crawling in my bed. Maintenance take ages to sort anything out I was getting bitten at night but they never came to resolve that issue. One night i went to stay with my friends as the bugs in my bed got so bad, not what you would expect when you are paying the extortionate prices you are to Unite Students! Some of the kitchens are smaller than others so it depends on the luck of the draw if you actually get a decent kitchen size. The layout in my kitchen was terrible, not enough room for the two fridge freezers. The rooms are very dark, so if you are going to live here i would advise bring at least two lamps if you want to see anything in your room when its dark outside. Overall seriously over priced, but have met some amazing people and the parties have been lit. so yeah overall kind of shitty experience but the social life makes up for all the things that break and don't work and the reception staff are always kind especially Andy.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
The staff here are so lovely and helpful. Not always 100% in the kitchens as not all things work properly but rooms are nicely sized. Staff are always there to help and give advice when needed.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th February 2018
Good en suite and really nice kitchen, had a single bed which wasn’t the best, but had a lot of space which was to myself which made up for it! Was a little pricey but compared to the new Hal’s definitely the best value for money I think!! Nearly forgot to mention how close to campus it is! Literally rolled out of bed and was in a lecture two minutes later, absolutely brilliant
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
I found the halls to be a massive upgrade from my time spent at Langston in QEQM, the bedrooms are a decent size and the kitchen is amazing and offered amazing views over gunwarf.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th January 2018
Was great being so close to guildhall walk, meant getting up for lectures was just that bit easier. Rooms are a decent size but kitchens don’t let in much light.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
Great location. Best halls in my opinion, close to all your lecture buildings and night clubs. Town center is about 5 min away and about 2 min away from bateson and hary law halls.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th February 2018
Socially very good, they were the best halls at the time but rent does not reflect what it’s actually worth
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Nice halls recently renovated. Great location near to lecture halls and nightlife with the town centre only a few minutes walk away. Very clean and can be lively at times.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Rebecca Lympany's picture

Rebecca Lympany

2nd January 2018
Amazing halls overall, so close to town and easy access to lecture halls/local shops. Noisy in the evenings, especially Purple Wednesdays as it was so central to town. Security problems were frequent but this so somewhat to be expected.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
It was decent, close to the university and the library, shops are close by and different bars, fairly close to the beach easy place to live if you want to work a while your at university.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
This place is a dump, but it's the best dump you'll ever live in. This is the place to be for first year parties!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd January 2018
Great location, a stones throw away from most university buildings, the only exception being the Institute of Marine Sciences. However first years rarely use this building and there are good free transport links to and from. Great place to meet people, nice rooms with en suites and good kitchen and social area. The only thing James Watson is lacking is a communal area.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Great location, close to lecturers and other local amenities. Can be very loud at times and needs constant maintenance as things break very often. Staff are really friendly especially Andy on reception always happy to help.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
James Watson’s location is excellent, in very close proximity to shops, most uni facilities & the city’s main train station. It is luck of the draw as to which part of the halls you get, as this will heavily impact your experience. Rooms facing the clubs or the courtyard are very loud til the early hours. Whereas those facing towards the seafront & Gunwharf Quays are far superior.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Jessica Allan's picture

Jessica Allan

2nd January 2018
James Watson had the best location by far. Right in the middle of the centre. It’s quite busy and loud so would recommend if you like partying. The rooms are big and have ensuites and are mostly 6 people to flat which is a good number!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Karyn Karyn's picture

Karyn Karyn

28th December 2017
My social experience in this halls was not good, I was allocated a room in the designated quiet area so we weren’t allowed to make noise after 11pm. My room was decent, it came with plenty of storage space and it’s own en suite and the halls is located in the centre of Portsmouth, within walking distance of everywhere you would need to go.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Location wise you are at the centre of everything. The high street is three minutes away and most university buildings are no more than a five minute walk away. The halls is opposite two clubs which is good but you can’t leave your window open at night because of be noise. The kitchen is large with a big brekfast bar to eat at and also has soafas in to relax on. Between six of us we had two fridge freezers and a mini fridge but I don’t know whether this is the same for all flats. The room is lovely, lots of floor space with a reasonable bathroom. The desk is really big and had shelves and draws. The reception staff are really friendly and any matinace issues get fixed really quick. Overall so far I have really enjoyed living here!
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Olivia Gregson's picture

Olivia Gregson

28th December 2017
Halls is in great location, near essentially everywhere you want to get to: the town, lectures, nightlife etc. The bedrooms are a little prison-y. Very basic. But clean and well kept. Has everything you need in there. The price is a little pricey. I paid £110 a week and I think the price has gone up since then.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th March 2018
The location is good, next to all the clubs but not too loud, easy access to food, bit the fire alarm goes off far too often, heating smells quite burny and doesn't work very well
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

19th February 2018
Little over expensive but the en suite and location make up for it. The room are also kind of small with a weird layout but i would not have changed for anything
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Pages