Rating Summary

3.2 / 9 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Star
    0
  • 0 Stars
    0
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 

Latest Reviews

Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th December 2017
En suite was great. Kitchens were quite small and the lifts were a death trap. Decor was old fashioned but it was warm and functional.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th December 2017
Reception isn’t great and there’s no common room. However rooms and kitchen are really good sizes, downside of having a wet room not a shower pod
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Lauren Sivers's picture

Lauren Sivers

16th February 2018
Absolutely disgraceful. There we problems from day one. The back stairwell was not finished from renovation the lifts never worked. Since the building covers over an entire road, the reception was on one side and after Christmas, it got shut down and was moved to the other side of the road, meaning a lot of builders starting at early times and a lot of inconvenience. Through out the halls, it was falling apart. the stick on skirting board started to come off and carpets coming away from the floor. There was an insane amount of mould leading to myself and my twin sister getting ill 6 times over the period of 10 months. The ensuit was not ventilated properly and although we were told to open our windows, they were on a suicide prevention lock meaning they didnt open very far and didnt make much difference. Furthermore, we were told to open the windows over the coldest part of winter which was next to impossible because none of the radiators worked meaning we had to go out and buy dehumidifiers and heaters just to keep warm. The laundry services were an absolute shambles, Always broken and the app we had to use constantly took money from us even though the washing machine never actually worked. Although the rooms were renovated the bathrooms were not, the showers were pathetic and very old looking considering the rest of the room. there wasn't any 24/7 security/ cleaners. There was a time where a student was drunk and gashed his head and left blood everywhere, all over the floors and walls. This happened on Friday and was not cleaned until Monday. Another example was where someone was sick on the carpet in the hall, My sister actually cleared it up as it wouldn't have been cleaned until Monday. My experience with unite student has been a disgusting, depressing and hard battle just to keep living standards in a half finished building, especially since the price was nearly 6K a year. I am disgusted at the standards.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th March 2018
Room good size Good location in relation to shopping, uni and nightlife Washing facilities poor. Constantly breaking and not enough washers/ dryers to accommodate everyone Kitchens are too small for amount of people and range in sizes even with same number of people so prices are excessive if you have a small kitchen
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Lauren Sivers's picture

Lauren Sivers

16th February 2018
Absolutely disgraceful. There we problems from day one. The back stairwell was not finished from renovation the lifts never worked. Since the building covers over an entire road, the reception was on one side and after Christmas, it got shut down and was moved to the other side of the road, meaning a lot of builders starting at early times and a lot of inconvenience. Through out the halls, it was falling apart. the stick on skirting board started to come off and carpets coming away from the floor. There was an insane amount of mould leading to myself and my twin sister getting ill 6 times over the period of 10 months. The ensuit was not ventilated properly and although we were told to open our windows, they were on a suicide prevention lock meaning they didnt open very far and didnt make much difference. Furthermore, we were told to open the windows over the coldest part of winter which was next to impossible because none of the radiators worked meaning we had to go out and buy dehumidifiers and heaters just to keep warm. The laundry services were an absolute shambles, Always broken and the app we had to use constantly took money from us even though the washing machine never actually worked. Although the rooms were renovated the bathrooms were not, the showers were pathetic and very old looking considering the rest of the room. there wasn't any 24/7 security/ cleaners. There was a time where a student was drunk and gashed his head and left blood everywhere, all over the floors and walls. This happened on Friday and was not cleaned until Monday. Another example was where someone was sick on the carpet in the hall, My sister actually cleared it up as it wouldn't have been cleaned until Monday. My experience with unite student has been a disgusting, depressing and hard battle just to keep living standards in a half finished building, especially since the price was nearly 6K a year. I am disgusted at the standards.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th June 2018
Margaret Rule Hall was a great location as it was close to the shopping centre on Commerical road and a 5-10 minute walk to bars and clubs. However, facilities were poor. Compared to other halls who had pool tables and a communial area where they could socialise we did not have that. Although. Bedrooms in Margaret rule were very spacious and modern compared to other halls. The social side of halls going in to halls was the best part. You meet so many new and different people which make your living experience and time at uni so much more enjoyable. Not only that, you are introduced to other people through them and can potentially find people on your course which is always a help. Overall, Margaret rule hall was a great location with a great mix of people and good atmosphere.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th March 2018
Doesn't look very good on the outside but the inside is really nice, nice modern rooms and kitchens great experience.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Martha  Bigger's picture

Martha Bigger

2nd May 2018
I had an average experience at Margaret Rule. The location it very near Guildhall, the train station and some parts of the university (the creative technologies centre) and it’s not far to the rest of the university and Gunwharf. My room was nice with a 3/4 bed but I had a lot of problem with the bathroom. The floor went mouldy and it took them 5 months to repair and even then they didn’t complete the job. All my flatmates had this problem and they repaired some properly and then others they didn’t. Those that had theirs repaired properly also received more compensation which was nonsense. There’s no social areas and it’s very difficult to meet people from other flats which I didn’t like. The internet is okay for average usage. Overall it was quite expensive for an average living experience and Unite proved difficult to communicate with throughout the year but it didn’t stop me from having a good year.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Annabelle Saunders's picture

Annabelle Saunders

24th November 2018
The location is very good as it is only a 10 minute walk to university buildings as well as to shops. Main problem with actual building is the elevators break quite often. The facilities are good and all work in the flat and in my room. The heating turns off after a few minutes and doesn't heat up the room which isn't ideal for cold nights.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: 
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

24th November 2018
I stayed in Margaret rule halls the first year of university. Overall the halls were standard, 'liveable'. The bedrooms were a good size, with everything needed like a desk, double bed and wet room. The heating was broken and wasn't fixed all year, which was the main negative point of my stay. The kitchen facilities were a good size for the 7 of us in the flat, with an oven and 4 hobs, and 2 sinks. There was also a sofa, table and high table for each with 4 stools. Cleaning utensils were provided, like hoover and mop. The kitchen was also cleaned by cleaners once every 2 weeks (could probably do with more for a student halls). The area is very close to uni, however when during my stay, they were proceeding to build new halls next year, which we were not informed about prior to moving in, and we were woken up at early hours of the morning EVERY morning by building works, which carried on until late at night. We were very disappointed with this. There was also a damp problem for the duration of my stay. Overall, an average stay.
Location: 
Your room: 
Social experience: 
Value for money: 
Social areas: 
Internet / Wifi: