Birmingham City University Reviews

User
ranking
54/354

Birmingham City University Reviews

4.1 / 340 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Star
    5
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Adam Dyson's picture

Adam Dyson

11th February 2018
BCU is a university that really cares about individual student experience and success. All the lecturers on the sound engineering course are exceptionally passionate and committed, going above and beyond to ensure students truly get the most out of their time at BCU. The university expands every year with state of the art and superbly designed new buildings and expansions providing large amounts of individual and group study spaces.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
BCU continuously makes efforts to become more inclusive to all students from all backgrounds. The LGBT society is extremely active and works with the university to continue to improve student experience.
Health and wellbeing services: 
The health and wellbeing team at BCU is oustanding. All the wellbeing advisers and counsellors are very good at their jobs and genuinely care a lot about student wellfare.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
BCU is one of the best universities for supporting disabled students. Mental health support is exceptional with BCU accommodating every student to the best of their ability. Facilities are very inclusive and the general attitude is one of acceptance and support. A very lovely university for disabled students.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

31st January 2018
The new city centre campus is excellent, modern upto date with high tech facilities for the students. From filming rooms to music studios all packed with top spec computers both mac and windows. Library could be a bit better in terms of books that are kept.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th February 2018
Decent uni good facilities could be better teaching I don't really know too much about it as I travel from home and don't spend me time there.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Wouldn't know
Health and wellbeing services: 
Never used
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Wouldn't know
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th February 2018
Birmingham city university is a big university consisting of many buildings surrounding Birmingham. The curzon building (which I’m at) is a new build, finalised 2018 of this year. They have a large library over 2 floors and a laptop area where you can get a laptop. Commuting is easy to the university as well as living in the accommodation as Birmingham has many cheap places to buy food etc. Psychology is great a course with many great lectures offering there experiences first hand and they want the best out of you. Pushing you to achieve.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
I have a disability and they have been amazing! They have provided everything for my needs and much more.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

11th February 2018
Overall it has been a great place to study. Love being In the Centre of Birmingham great opportunity to take in the city as a creative student.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th February 2018
BCU is just fabulous! It’s a new, up to date building with fantastic facilities and support (Faculty of Health: City South). The student union are brilliant, they listen and take our opinion into an account. They also give out freebies. Some rooms accumulate heat very quickly. The windows don’t always open wide, and not all the rooms have air con. It can become very uncomfortable to learn in this sort of environment. Overall, it’s a very good university.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Plenty of variety in BCU. Very inclusive and a non judgemental university.
Health and wellbeing services: 
You can self refer yourself to get counselling if needs be. The occupation health, are always there to support and guide us with any issues too.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Lifts are available, and support can be put in place to help
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th January 2018
The campus is always clean and is full of people who are always there to help you or give a helpful advice! The library is full of learning resources and everything is easy to find!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th February 2018
The campus I am on is very health based which has its pros and cons. Pros are that there is good support with everyone having the same type of course. Cons are you don't meet that many other people that aren't doing a health based course.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

31st January 2018
Amazing university, teahers and lecturers actually care about their students and want to help as much as they can with eveything you could ask them about. Facilities are very modern and you have everything you need.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
Staff aren't most helpful in labs and tutorials, overall good place
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th February 2018
TERRIBLE WIFI CONNECTION, TERRIBLE PHONE SERVICE AVAILABILITY. But other than that decent facilities, decent teachers, decent learning experience.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Alexandria Rhoden's picture

Alexandria Rhoden

15th November 2017
The campus is good. Due to the high volume of students, it's sometimes hard to find somewhere to study in the day whilst lectures are occurring. There are great lecturers who are very supportive and helpful but within my three years, I've only came across two very unhelpful ones.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There is a supportive student union platform and many events related to it.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Ask desk is provided and is very helpful with any enquires
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The university has great state of the art facilities that are available for student use, however the course has limited teaching, I’m basicaly paying £9k a year to teach myself. Careers service is useless for me because my degree is very niche and specific, so general careers advice is irrelevant. The students union has done nothing to little for me.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
So awful. With a previous history of mental health issues and leaving therapy, I signed up for counselling as soon as I arrived at uni. Apparently it was already full so I was put on a waiting list. Then they booked an appointment for me and didn’t tell me about it, so when I didn’t turn up they removed me from the waiting list. Once I went to student services and had a breakdown in front of the mental health adviser. She was very kind but wouldn’t let me leave on my own as she thought I was a risk to myself, so I had to call my flatmate to pick me up. She then told me to go to the emergency walk-in centre in town to get seen by a doctor. The walk-in centre told me to go somewhere across Birmingham, which I didn’t do because I didn’t know where to go. After this pointless and distressing experience, I got a support summary to get extensions on assignment deadlines, but I received no further mental health support.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Facilities are not the best. Library is considerably small with not a lot of spaces to sit and do work or eat lunch. It's a shame there is not a guild or student club. Although the pub is great. Range of courses is good and lecturers are great
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
My initial impressions of Birmingham City University we’re quite normal; in the sense that I weren’t to excited nor was I doubting myself. Upon experiencing freshers week, quite a lot of things were addressed making feel confident and not to mention look forward to starting my degree at Birmingham City University. The teaching quality is great, the lectures have a good understanding of the subjects and the library has sufficient amount of resources which are available to students. The environment is a positive one where everyone gets along, lecturers and students. There’s also quite a variety of various facilities on offer. Overall a great start to uni life!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd December 2017
The course is fantastic and other students that are there really help you if necessary. The staff are very helpful as well.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd December 2017
Everyone is so helpful and make you feel at home. The teaching standard is amazing and they really want to improve your work and make you feel like you’re doing great. Atmosphere is great.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

12th January 2018
The university is a lovely and welcome place to be. It is nice and clean and the services are great. The ASK desk is a necessity in the university and the people on the desk are always able to help with any questions you may have. The library has plenty of seating and has a nice atmosphere.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Rebecca Knight's picture

Rebecca Knight

15th November 2017
One of the biggest selling points of BCU - particularly for the Arts, Design and Media courses - is its facilities. It has 4 state-of-the-art TV studios, 6 industry-standard radio studios, photography studios (including half-coves), printing rooms, etc. There's also Hires and Loans, where you can book equipment, workshops, and the studios - all for free! There's loads of societies in the SU, including the award-winning Scratch Radio, and on-site pubs, cafes, and convenience stores. The teaching is pretty good, though at times it has felt that we're not getting our money's worth in terms of teaching hours, but many of the tutors are happy to extra tutorials and respond to emails when out-of-office. The library is fantastic, the location is super handy as it's right in the center of town, and it's all very modern with Eastside Park on its doorstep.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
The on-site GP is super handy, and she's a lovely woman - no nonsense, but still very nice.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Robert Haworth's picture

Robert Haworth

15th November 2017
The campus is great, loads of new modern facilities with just about everything you need for uni, there is an onsite shop that sells everything you need for your uni day and various coffee shops dotted around campus. I am studying Law and this year is quite interesting and most of the lecturers are good. Some lecturers, however, are very boring and fail to keep me engaged for very long. The careers services are very helpful, they also provide a plethora of different services on moodle to help you find out what you would like to do with your life. Overall my experience at BCU so far has been great and there is always something to do such as Grad+ activities which look great on my CV. The only downside is those few lectures who just aren't very good.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional