Lancaster University Reviews

User
ranking
24/354

Lancaster University Reviews

4.2 / 386 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    150
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Star
    5
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st May 2018
A very nice uni set in an beautiful country side location, well worth an open day visit- lecturers are amazing
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

23rd June 2018
A very beautiful campus in a green area where u can even smell the shit of cows and other animals and u can feel like you are in a village.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Ellie Fielding-Redpath's picture

Ellie Fielding-...

26th January 2018
A highly supportive University. The staff are amazing and the support (financial, emotional, academic) is multi-faceted and always at hand. The campus isn't full of green pastures, but the location is great (easy access to the city without being swarmed by city-folk/night-life.. short journey to the train station and major bus station... hours journey from the Lake District). The facilities on campus are excellent. The library has been refurbished, the gym facilities are impressive, there are ample places to study all throughout campus and many different eateries and bar (being a college campus, each college has its own bar and eating space which is open to all students).
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
Lovely campus with great access to the countryside. The city is rather small compared to most, so can be quite limited of that's what you like doing. The campus it's self though looks and feels great with an awesome community.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

6th February 2018
Love my Lancaster experience - my course and facilities. The Management School offers amazing employability opportunities, you get to network with amazing people, and you just get so much out of it.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
Good to have on your CV, but we pay £9250 for lecturers to read off powerpoint slides, workshops and seminars ran by PhD students who dont really know what they are doing, extortionate prices for books that they say are vital but are never referred back to. We are over-charged to use the gym that is tiny. You have to pay the university, to represent them at sports, list continues.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th February 2018
Fantastic University in and amazing location with a close proximity to lots of beautiful countryside. Very safe place to live and the town has everything you could possibly want. Moreover, there are loads of great things to see and do around the town, including Sugarhouse, Williamson Park and The Castle to name a few. Biggest downsides is the fact the uni couldn't care less about sport.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Good doctors on campus!
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th January 2018
Great university!! The campus is amazing, almost like a mini village with most facilities available on campus. Good teaching and accomodation.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Hannah Littler's picture

Hannah Littler

15th November 2017
The campus is beautiful and in an are of natural beauty itself. I take joint majors in history and literature and both courses give a huge level of freedom in your studying.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There's a series of bursaries available for poorer students to help them reach their full potential in studying. Also there are a series of societies for the LGBT community available.
Health and wellbeing services: 
There's a medical centre on campus that is easily available for a quick check up or treatment.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Morgan Bruce's picture

Morgan Bruce

1st December 2017
The university overall has a small but great atmosphere. The wide selection of societies on offers means there is something for everyone. Even though the nightlife is not the best as in Lancaster city. More importantly the level of help provided by staff and their overall enthusiasm for their taught subjects makes up for it 10 times over- after all you go to uni to earn a degree. I was a bit shocked how quiet it was when I first came here but I am happy it's this way rather than being stuck right in the centre of a busy and noisy city. You have all the time in the world to experience a good nightlife in cities after you graduate. Really the nightlife and the size of the Sports Centre is the only downfall on the university as a whole. Everything else is great. Even if you are unsure come and look at the University and look over the course modules I was quite impressed by the variety when I first came to look at the University. Btw the accommodation in my opinion is really nice - if you do end up coming here. Pick the townhouse accommodation. Even though it's a bit expensive £120 a week. Better to go in a townhouse with a really good bedroom and sitting/ kitchen diner area and good social aspect instead having to go to your college bar for drinks a lot of (fizzy drinks, beer whatever you like) which could add up to £10 a week quicker than you think anyway.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
They have a range of scholarships on offer at the university.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
I am not an international student but from what I have heard from international students is that the support here is great. I know they have a support team specifically designed to help international students, whether this be with writing essays or any other general help.
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
There is a peer mentoring scheme - older students studying your course can give advice on your course and also getting used to uni life. Great to hear from another student. There is a also group mentoring scheme - basically a group discussion and meeting every week to talk about how your week has and been and what help is also on offer at the university.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
This university is a brilliant university. Nearly all the buildings here are modern or brand new. There are many shops, bars and places to eat on campus which makes it very easy to get supplies or get food. The facilities are very modern and are well kept, the student halls are cleaned regularly and any problem reported are dealt with very quickly.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Andreea Ouatu's picture

Andreea Ouatu

14th March 2018
I really enjoy being a student at Lancaster University, it has all you need. I love the campus and the general vibe everyday, because there is always a event, an activity, a society going on.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Cerys Little's picture

Cerys Little

12th March 2018
Lancaster University was out of my range when I first looked at universities... But I fell in love, the location is perfect for me, I may live in Devon but it's an hour away on the train from Manchester so I can fly, and being a campus uni, the town itself isn't far, but campus has everything you could need! I'm a geography student, and Lancaster Environemt Centre is also incredible! The staff are lovely and amazing, the equipment and labs are so nice, the degree scheme is laid out very well and I am so so pleased I worked my butt off so I could come here! I didn't know what to expect with a campus university, but it's is in a beautiful location, and everything is available to us here on campus, supermarkets deliver to campus so you don't really need to go into town! Overall, I would recommend Lancaster to anyone, right off the M6 and a stone throw away from the Lake District, I am proud to say I'm a student at Lancaster, it is the best decision of my life so far.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There is a huge LGBT society, and I have friends who recently went though the uni to the NUS LGBT conference this March.
Health and wellbeing services: 
There is a pharmacy and doctors surgery right here on campus! And the people in the pharmacy are very helpful, they know exactly what to recommend.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th March 2018
They have no passion or dedication to teaching, this reflects in the students mental health throughout the course
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th March 2018
Course is interesting but if you are really only interested in one subject and one subject only some courses don't have enough credits for first year meaning you have to do other subjects too. Everything else about the uni I have loved, although as an off campus student it is very easy to become isolated.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Aqsa Ahmed's picture

Aqsa Ahmed

24th February 2018
Lancaster is a lovely place to study mainly because everyone here just seems so accepting of all people. While it may be small compared to other unis you get the feeling that the staff genuinely care about your education. Plus there is always something happpening.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th March 2018
Nice campus with good facilitie although halls are quite expensive compared to town. Nightlife isn't the best but prices are fair.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th March 2018
Lancaster is a welcoming and friendly university with excellent teaching and research degrees. The facilities are very good, with an exceptional library and award winning campus accommodation. The social support from freshers week to the end of my time here has been a huge part of making me feel at home here, in particular the college system and the family feel that brings. The university has a very responsible and available wellbeing service that helps so many students, and the best careers service I have heard of at a university. The campus is safe, has everything you could need and is a perfect size. I have enjoyed every aspect of my time at Lancaster and will be sad to leave in many ways!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

21st March 2018
The course is based at Blackpool and the fylde college which is a great location, the course its self could sometimes do with more organisation but is mostly good.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st March 2018
Poor students union, and the nightlife isn’t great. Apart from that it’s a brilliant uni. We have great facilities and the sports centre is phenomenal
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional