The Manchester Metropolitan University Reviews

User
ranking
6/354

The Manchester Metropolitan University Reviews

4.2 / 551 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    237
  • 4 Stars
    230
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Star
    4
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th May 2018
The campus is set out to give students a clear idea of how student life actually works. It allows us to communicate well between each other and they are also in perfect locations.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Services are available 24/7
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Disability access available in all locations
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

11th February 2018
The campus is compact and everything is close together. The facilities are good and modern and we have extra things like the MET card which gives you money to spend in the uni. The online library has of books online for free meaning you don't have to buy them. My course could have been organised better as there is lots of overlap between the 2 halves.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Personal Learning Plans are devised which are very useful and accommodating. There are disabled rooms available in some accommodation's and lifts are available in all the buildings. Staff are supportive with extensions of deadlines.
Show Subcategories
Anshul Goyal's picture

Anshul Goyal

26th January 2018
I’m an international student studying in this uni from India. I enjoy my uni time a lot and really love the place I chose and don’t regret anything. It’s got really great staff, a fabulous library, good people, good facilities and really good international support. Sports facilities of the university are satisfactory but their focus on development of it is quite impressive. Various opportunities always come up about volunteering, career markets, future job prospects, part time, etc. Accomodation recommended by the uni is pretty good as well.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Aqsa Alam's picture

Aqsa Alam

7th February 2018
The university is a really good place. Everything from food to people to lectures is really well organised and it makes you want to spend more time at the uni. One critism of my uni is that we cannot take out the met card money for our personal use or anything else that we would need. As we all adults in the uni I would prefer to have control over those funds too since I need to learn and handle my budget. I am the best person to know what i need to buy and where i need to save. The uni does however make it easier to use our met card money by providing great facilities like the post office, coffee shops, applying for bus passes, food, stationary supplies and some groceries. I would still prefer to have it all in my bank account though. Another great thing about my uni is that it provides us with green spaces where we can relax and chill and it has a gym near by where we can work out for free! This helps student get the best of their uni life without spending too much. The uni is located on oxford road where many resturants and shops can be found, making it easier to access food during late hours of study. The uni is also very close to the tram & train station as well as many bus stops therefore it makes the travelling very easy too.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There is no tolerance against hateful acts and if reported the abuser can get into serious trouble by the uni. A lot of support is available for minority groups such as the lgbtq community. Muslims have access to their own prayer rooms (one for males and one for females) with their own designated wudu (ablution)areas. There is also a large chinese community and societies where international students can go to. Furthermore students with a poorer background can also apply for grant money from the uni which they dont have to pay back.
Health and wellbeing services: 
The university has a councelling service (free) which is great for many student who want to access the extra support and help. The university is also close by to the hospital and multiple pharmacies where the students can go if they feel unwell.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
There can be found multiple disabled toilets in each building. Each building also has a lift as well as automated doors for wheelchair access. Wherever there are stairs there is a slope for disabled users. Also if any one is struggling there are plenty of helpful kind spirited people ready to help! There is no segregation of disabled students from the non disabled ones. Everyone is treated equally and fairly and it is common for everyone to hang out together and attent events and parties together. If anyone feels left out please do not hesitate to approach someone first or go to the councelling service for some friendly advice. If you are shy i encourage you to attend some society events where you will meet like minded peoplr who will make you feel welcomed!
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th February 2018
Currently staying at the Cheshire Campus, and it’s nice and small, easy location. Close to retail park for shopping and hunger needs. Staff are friendly, supportive and respectful.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
N/a
Health and wellbeing services: 
N/a
Support for international students: 
N/a
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
N/a
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
The campus is a city centre campus so it quiet spread out and it can be hard for visitors to indentify MMU buildings without assistance from open day staff. It doesn’t have that homely feel like campus universities like Salford do but it is more convenient to acces central Manchester. The allocation of halls is left quiet late, I was given my room 1-2 weeks before my expected move in date which for me, made it seem quiet rushed and last minute. More expensive halls are a lot nicer but less social so I would advice saving your money on rent and going into halls that aren’t as aesthetically pleasing but give you the opportunity to meet as many people as possible. I spent £7000 of my £8000 loan on halls and I was too broke to go out and my flat of 5 wasn’t very social.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Student support package (money loaded onto a university card) for low income students. £750-£1000 per academic year which can be used to buy textbooks, computers, food, materials, university hall rent. Very proud LGBT community and close vicinity to Manchester Gay village.
Health and wellbeing services: 
No on campus nurse/doctor but local surgeries close by - some put you on a waiting list. MMU counselling offer walk in service but this is only 1-2 Mon-Fri which isn’t really convenient for students that are suffering with mental health out of these hours. Also these open door sessions at times get very full so some students don’t get seen. 5 free counselling sessions allocated per academic year. They offer workshops to help with anxiety which are quiet helpful.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th February 2018
The campus is very easily to navigate and there is always staff on hand to ask If you don't know where you are going. I study Geography and the tutors are all very helpful and understanding and are always available to answer emails and/or avalible to be seen in person within office hours. The overall feeling is very pleasant and clean and would recommend to anyone.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th February 2018
The university offers a wide range of student support which they advertise effectively. My experience at this university so far is positive as they have great staff, fascinating courses they offer and lots of support.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Very supportive and friendly staff
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd February 2018
s**t.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
The uni is welcoming and always makes you feel valued. There are loads of clubs and societies which you can join for good prices and high quality training, I'd recommend the swimming club! Tutors are great at explaining content and are always happy to help out of timetables sessions too, and they all have office hours for meetings and drop ins. The halls are expensive if you want to be in the city centre, however there are plenty to choose from and budget friendly accommodation is easy to find if you look a bit further away. There are also private flats which can be found at better value prices than the university halls.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

6th February 2018
Couldn't be better. Love it. Everyone's friendly. Having the best time of my life. Met people that will be friends for life
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
couldn't feel more welcome
Health and wellbeing services: 
support for everything
Support for international students: 
I haven't used it but I've headed good things
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
no problems
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

24th January 2018
Brilliant course! Wouldn't change it for anything. Definitely will recommend mmu. Decent location as it's right next to the city centre and has many bars surrounding it.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Students coming from a poorer background are offered loads of support and different grants.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Doctors are really easy to get registered with
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Sports facilities at the local gym allow easy access for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
I mean it does the job right. Could improve as in facilties and parking. Got decent food and i like the met card
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd January 2018
This university is really friendly. All the staff are lovely and I really feel at home at this university.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

17th December 2017
As a post-grad student at MMU, I find that there is a vast amount facilities available and endless support offered from various university groups. The library and IT resources can compete with other top universities in the country. The campus itself has lots of areas to study and is well maintained. I study MultimediaJjournalism, part-time but I am able to use university facilities to support my learning out of timetable hours.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

17th November 2017
Great Business School, decent quality of teaching, helpful career hub and large library with everything you'll need. Everything is within walking distance of each other. Grants are okay, though you're forced to use the MET card which is awful, especially giving that the food and whatnot you can use it on is way too expensive, often double what it would cost in a shop. Student housing is right nearby as well, though on the pricy side. No lectures get recorded and put online which is awful.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The course was great, just a large course so hard tocome across the same people twice. Great facilities for studying and friendly tutors easy to talk to
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Amazing university with great tutors and teaching facilities. University has great food places nearby Friendly atmosphere very diverse and in a great city
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
I was nervous in starting university as I was the first one in my family to go, and my university was amazing in the way that they had transitioned me in to university and ensured that I understood what was expected of me, and continue to offer support.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
My university takes into consideration students from all backgrounds, and even offers them £750 to use around the university for books, supplies, trips, laptops, food, etc. if they are from a poorer background.
Health and wellbeing services: 
My university is extremely amazing in offering support to students with any health and wellbeing support.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
There is a lot of support and facilities for students who are disabled.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
I am now in my final year at MMU and could not have asked for a better experience! The university is full of great staff, who are willing to help whenever you need it. All my studies have been based in the Brooks building, which is very modern and well laid out, with an amazing resource centre and great canteen. Most of the staff go above and beyond to help students gain the best possible outcome for their degree
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages