Plymouth University Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars based on 426 reviews
4.1 / 426 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
190
3 Stars
60
2 Stars
18
1 Star
7
Campus/University buildings
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Learning facilities
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Sports facilities
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Student Union
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Careers service
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 120 reviews
Inclusivity
4.5 out of 5 stars based on 4 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
4.4 out of 5 stars based on 5 reviews
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 4 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.6 out of 5 stars based on 5 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Charleigh Hughes's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Charleigh Hughes

13th August 2018
the staff are brilliant very friendly and willing to help with any problem you may have, huge library with loads of seating areas, computors and even a cafe. the campus its self is not as big as you think it is when you are there, a couple of shops including coffee shops and hot food areas, along with vending machines and its also very close to the main city centre if you need clothes, toiletries, food ect. the campus also has a gym and a range of clubs and activities available for everyone and easily accessable for everyone walking to wheelchair there are lifts in every building and ramps all aroung the campus
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th August 2018
Computer science courses are poor, content is out of date for current trends and business practises. It did not prepare me for a job (there is currently an apprentice doing similar role to me). University as whole is not very well organised, and management just do whatever they like. Not good value for money generally, much better options out there
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th August 2018
Good location near the sea. Lots to do around the area and the night out are good but not massive. The uni itself doesn't offer that much support to students, and the Marine Biology program was disappointing.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

3rd August 2018
Plymouth campus is in a great location, right in the city centre. You literally cross the road to get to the shopping centre. All accommodation is close by and can be provided by the university. The student union constantly has events and there are so many different sports and societies. Everyone feels welcome at the uni.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There is a doctors surgery on site which offered same day call backs as well as an on site pharmacy
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
Overall my experience has been positive, my course could be more enthusiastic about life after uni in order to prepare
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
Great facilities, plenty of space for everyone, attentive and enthusiastic lecturers on my course! Really happy I chose Plymouth.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
The campus and facilities were good, they were constantly improving the library facilities although at peak times there was never enough space. The availability of books that were listed as core resources for modules was bad, they should’ve been made available as an ebook. The course was badly organised and lecturers delivered the course really differently to eachother, inconsistent advice was given and students didn’t feel supported.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Poorer backgrounds: lack of financial support for nursing students. I was sent from Plymouth to Glastonbury for Placement for 2 months, 5 days a week. I don’t drive and o had to stay there in a hotel. I could claim expenses back but they took about 4 months to come back and didn’t cover all of the costs. How am I expected to pay for it in the first place?
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Lack of understanding of mental health. I was told to just ‘get over’ my anxiety for a practical exam and just deal with it. No provisions were put in place even when I requested. I asked to have my practical exam in a seperate room, not with 4 other students and I was told I couldn’t on the day because it was the same examiner I had already had (this is on a retake of a practical exam that I had already failed due to anxiety)
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

4th July 2018
The university itself can be disorganised at times with exam timetabling but it makes up for it with its huge variety of student support for studying (whether that be the Writing Cafe, the different rooms available in the Library or just individual study rooms for each course to allow people to study in silence.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I haven’t found myself in a position where I feel out of place due to the background I’m from (being very poor), which is nice because growing up it was constantly all about where you live, how much your parents make etc. Here it’s very individualistic and I love it.
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Some aspects of mental health support is useful but from personal experience, the staff I spoke to for my meeting seemed inexperienced and I had to spend more time explaining conditions and diagnoses to him because he didn’t know what they were, than him giving me ideas on how to help myself.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

30th June 2018
Campus is good, shops and student union with events and cheap drinks etc, lots of societies but sometimes feel there isn't enough room to accommodate everyone such as in the library. Feel the course materials are a bit lacking and the resources for the course are very limited.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

29th June 2018
Great university and overall my whole experience while being there has been amazing. Just finished a degree at the university and the campus itself is big and there is loads of facilities which you have access too. My course itself was great and got enough support from lectures and tutors to help me through my degree.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

25th June 2018
I currently study criminology with psychology and it’s safe to say I love the course and the university. I am a single mum and the lecturers are so understanding of my situation, on a few occasions I haven’t been able to get a baby sitter and the staff have encouraged me to come in with my son and one lecturer even rocked him to sleep whilst teaching the seminar. Without the kind staff, I wouldn’t be able to better my life for my son.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
As a single mum, I class myself as extremely lucky to have such a great support system here at Plymouth university. On many occasions I have had to rely on grants supplied by the university to be able to continue on my course. I even receive help for nursery fees so that I am able to attend all the classes needed
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I have had a large amount of support via the mental health support team and they have been able to keep me positive through the stress of deadlines and keep me excited about the future of my degree
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

25th June 2018
great facilities but could use more 1 on 1 contact time with tutors and library should be open on sundays even if just for a half day.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

24th June 2018
Plymouth University is fantastic! It has everything to offer; the best courses, the best teachers, the best SU, the best social life, the best city; the best student experience!
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

22nd June 2018
Great university facilities, 24hr library is brilliant. Mental health support could be better and the organisation of society's, often socials are same-old and last minute.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
LGBT and pride are good within the university. Students of a good ethnic mix.
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The services when put in place seem very useful, but being referred/ finding out about those services isn't at easy.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

21st June 2018
The university is very modern. The buildings are all together which makes travelling between lectures easy. The university is located in the city centre by a large shopping centre and the hoe. It is a hreat location in the summer, not so much in the winter with the rain and wind. The facilities at the university are good, there is a large library, ample computers and most importantly a large student union bar area.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I believe it was, however, am not from this background so cannot comment.
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The university doctors surgery was small and it was difficult to get an appointment. I have to hVe regular injections and found this hard to do. It was better when i registered to a different surgery when i moved out of halls.
Support for international students
The gym is good, however small and expensive. At busy times it can be difficult to get on equipment. I did not use the careers service so cannot comment on it.
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Again unsure.
Show Subcategories
Chloe Brown's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Chloe Brown

21st June 2018
Lecturers were supportive, I gained a lot from the BA dance course, it was at uni I first began teaching and I now have a job due to this.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Can always speak to the lecturers
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The House is brilliant and accessible. The dance course is inclusive
Show Subcategories
Charleigh Hughes's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Charleigh Hughes

18th June 2018
The staff are brilliant and extremely supportive, always willing to help with any problem whether it's personal or or to do with your course!! The university is large but feels safe when you are on campus it's always lively and full of friendly people! There is always something going on its never boring
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Again lots of help in place for all students including financial and also clubs and societies so no one feels excluded
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Brilliant doctors and lots of support and help in place for people with different health problems
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I myself have not needed to seek support from the international team however I have heard they are amazing
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The university has been designed to be accessible to everyone with ramps, stairs and lifts so disabled students are also able to get around the university
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

12th June 2018
Great place for a uni with everything close together. Some buildings run down and some lecture theatres too dark. SU is in need of a refresh, also they don't clean the pint glasses. Amazing gym though.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
average
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
n/a
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
amazing support and special clubs
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th June 2018
The couse is really interesting and challenges my intellect. The student union is always fun and they offer lots of advice on jobs.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Umar Rehman's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Umar Rehman

9th June 2018
Plymouth university is an amazing institution, the campus is very new and has the latest technology. I am studying medicine there and it has been very well supported, the staff are always willing to help and the clinical training facilities have everything you need. The cohort is only 80 per year and so you are able to get to know everyone in the year group. The student union holds regular night outs and also have pool tables to use during the day. We all have personal tutors that can help with career advice but also lectures that also assist.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories

Pages