Queen Mary University of London Reviews

User
ranking
22/354

Queen Mary University of London Reviews

4.1 / 1176 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    525
  • 4 Stars
    436
  • 3 Stars
    161
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Star
    18
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

21st January 2018
We have a pretty awesome student union, they organise some great activities and nights out, as well as serious stuff, like careers fairs, that are actually really helpful and the careers department is brilliant.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd February 2018
It's a good university, however there is never room in the library and give to do work! Would be better if there were more room!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Leon Whittermo's picture

Leon Whittermo

23rd January 2018
I really like it, I like the buildings and the city and it's pretty! My biggest sadness comes from the fact that I'll never be able to relive my first day at this wonderful place, my dreams came true when I came to you. I love you QMUoL, I love you all!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Zain Mohamed's picture

Zain Mohamed

25th January 2018
Campus is a little cramped but as to be expected for a London uni. However, there are too many construction projects going on. I pass the uni even during the holidays and no construction work is happening. Maybe work during holidays so there's no restriction and finish all the work early? My course has been completely disturbed as the lab where most of my modules are held is closed due to the construction works and there's no other labs so looks like we're all failing this year.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Great facilities, lovely space, great staff. Genuinely no complaints; feels like home. When I first arrived; I hate change so I was anxious. However, I almost naturally got into the flow. The lecturers we just great and the vibe you get on and around campus is so friendly and non threatening.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
They came and spoke to us about this; I myself get support leaning disabilities and it's been great, non judgemental, supportive support.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
Small campus overall compared to others but good level of education. New and modern buildings. Overall very nice place to study.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
As someone who was not initally intending to study here, I have been pleasantly surprised by Queen Mary University of London. It is a great university which offers a cosmopolitan city feel wihilst being a few station stops' away from Central London. The campus has a peaceful, calm feel yet is the largest self-contained campus most centrally located to London and is always bustling with students. What surprised me, and what I love most as a student here, is the extent of the diversity and the degree of integration for students who may have not otherwise considered going to university, or are from disadvantaged backgrounds. QM is the by far the most diverse Russell Group university which has helped me and other students not only make an amazing group of friends but learn about other cultures and understand multiple world views. Some quick statistics: 60% of students are from an ethnic background, and a staggering 42% of 17,000 undergrads are amongst the first in their families to attend university, like myself. QM also supports students from poorer backgrounds by offering bursaries for every year of study. Relative to my science course, it is intense and at times we feel overwhelmed but are given ample opportunity to provide constructive feedback. We do work very hard, but, in any case, societies and events distract us from endless assignments and tests. The Student Union is organised, easy to work with and help me plan events for the society I help run.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The campus is really big and has a variety of facilities such as a gym which is very cheap, has a big library which has alot of computers. The thing i disliked though is the professors are sometimes really boring and they just read of slides which is a waste becuase i can do that at home. But other then that everything was fine. The student union is very active and their is great representatives.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Bursaries for students from poorer backgrounds
Health and wellbeing services: 
The hospital was 2 minutes away
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Lift access for wheelchair users
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
The university classrooms and lecture theatres are all modern and up to date with excellent facilities like the lab rooms and the touch in ID card on the wall. My course, which is the film, language and linguistics course is very organised and has a variety of module options for each year. The professors are also all very helpful and are always in contact.So far, it has been an enjoyable experience.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

17th November 2017
Since attending Queen Mary, University of London, I have found that I eagerly await my lectures and seminars as they are so very interesting. This could be because I have a lot of freedom of choice in the modules I take which means that the content of the lectures is always interesting and useful to me, however it could also be the strength of the lecturers that teach here. My only problem would be the timetabling issue, for I study German and Catalan and have 2 compulsory modules every year which clash and so have to drop out of Catalan Culture every single year.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
The campus has undergone some major renovations during my course, improving the quality of life and study. The course itself was well ballanced, with relevant and usefull coursework. Especially excelent was the final year project, which was well supported by staff and facilities
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st January 2018
I am currently in my first year at QM and have been loving it since I have arrived. It has cosy feeling main campus which makes it a lot easier for new students to navigate themselves around it. I love the diversity of the university and the wide range of societies students can join. It is inclusive towards ethnic minorities and religious groups catering to their needs for example providing a multi faith room which I did not have in my previous schools. Although the library has all the books necessary for the modules I am taking, it can be quite crowded and I sometimes find it difficult to get a seat. There is frequent student and advisor contact to check on how students are progressing. Some lecturers also provide online recorded versions of their lectures which is a great tool that students can use for their studies. QMPlus is a very good resource where lecturers efficiently put powerpoints and many other resource materials.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Maika Mendoza's picture

Maika Mendoza

16th November 2017
Mile End as a location isn't as fancy as other London universities. However, this also works as an advantage as the Mile End campus feels like one big home, as opposed to several campuses spread throughout the city. It's nice to be able to associate a whole place with uni, as it makes travelling around London seem like you're far away from uni even when you're not. Many of the buildings are new (they just finished building the graduate centre), and it's pretty easy to get around. Several food options on campus (uni cafe, shops) and of course Mile End is not short of chicken shops (Dixie's, KFC and Nando's). In the 3 years of studying at Queen Mary, even though the buildings aren't that fancy, it's easy enough to get around and it's nice to be able to see everyone you know in one place (probably the library). The main library is also 24/7 which is perfect for night owls like myself. And there are several secret study places too, which is great if you want a change of scenery while studying.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
I am on a BA Drama course. The actual modules on this course are extremely varied and I feel that everyone on the course is satisfied as they will be able to find something they really find inspiring within one of the modules. There is a lot of freedom within the academic work which I really appreciate. My only issue is that it is very difficult to book a practice space for most drama students due to the slight lack of facilities. A lot of other subjects use our buildings meaning that we very rarely can use a space to rehearse.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I know that LGBT related things have a good amount of support within the students union.
Health and wellbeing services: 
I find that it is very difficult to get a quick appointment with a doctor but the mental health services here are apparently very good.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
My university experience wasn't the best overall, but in terms of support Queen Mary and the welfare team were very helpful.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Very good team for people who don't know where to reach out or feel help is out of their reach.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
My university experience wasn't the best, but it could have been worse, and in terms of support Queen Mary have been very helpful.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Mental health and welfare services are good for people that feel like help is out of reach.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Although there are many computers available to students across campus, at times it can be extremely difficult to find one that is not in use half-way through the day. The two main computer rooms are in library and the Hive. Ground floor library is so noisy, it's like a zoo - even if you find a computer, it's impossible to study. Same situation with Hive. First floor library is quiet, however is always full; some students come first thing in the morning and stay there all day! The computer rooms in any other building is likewise noisy and these computer rooms can be booked by lecturers for their classes (which happens a lot) so you'd often get kicked out.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
This is a great university, being so close central London, you have a lot to explore. Also everything is close by, which mean you don’t have to travel far to shops. The university itself is very helpful in terms of student life in university. You can pretty much get help with all things from finance issues to medical issues. The facilities are very good too, you have so many different places to study and a lot of help around university If you ever need it.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Nasaybah Hussain's picture

Nasaybah Hussain

15th November 2017
Queen Mary was not my first choice for university, instead I had gotten in through clearing and therefore was a bit hesitant. However, I am now in my third year and I look back at the time here and I cannot think of a single dull memory. From my first day, and every other day since then, Queen Mary has given me a new sense of identity and freedom. It is a warm supportive university, with people always being around and support always being given. Another thing that I have noted is that it is so easy to be friends, everything starts with a smile. I have practically lived my three years in the library, however the library has become a sense of comfort for me. I am always bumping into familiar faces, finding my little corner to study in, and often getting in trouble for being loud because I am endlessly laughing; because Queen Mary is just that; endless laughters and memories, while simultaneously being a great place to study, with great resources and great help. I look back and thing to myself how lucky I am to have gotten through clearing, everything happens for a reason ,and Queen Mary is now my home.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
During my second year, my mother was diagnosed with cancer. This was a particularly hard year for me and my grades were beginning to slip. However, my tutors noticed this and help and support were immediately offered to me. I felt as if I had somewhere I could escape to, someone who would be there and offer me the support and guidance that I needed.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th January 2018
The campus is one of the best campuses in London. The university has multi faith centre that welcomes all faiths.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages