Royal Holloway, University of London Reviews

User
ranking
18/354

Royal Holloway, University of London Reviews

4.3 / 163 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Star
    1
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd February 2018
The university offers a range of excellent accommodation and facilities but lacks investment in catering and outlets. The university lacks in outstanding student experience in an area that is uniquely close to London and the countryside.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th February 2018
The campus is beautiful and the new buildings are very spacious and liveable. The library could haave a few more study spaces, as it's always quite busy and sometimes it's difficult to find a place. The lecturers in my course are very available to anyone.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I find the university exclusive for people from poorer backgrounds (e.g. the gym is too expensive, just like halls of accomodation or any other service)
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The university is good, however there is poor access to things for students. They do not make timetables adaptable for students who work/have other commitments. The library is very good
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th March 2018
A great little community set on a very picturesque campus just outside of London! Very close-knit with some lovely teaching staff. Also just had a new library built which is great. Downsides include the lack of nightlife, the SU and also our sexist principle!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Thomas  Franklin's picture

Thomas Franklin

16th March 2018
The essentials are absolutely fantastic, the department is very supportive and the lecturers are engaging. The problem for me is the cost of the SU shop and nights at the SU,the student's union also takes most of the societies' fees which means they cannot afford to hold events or invite speakers.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th February 2018
The course is not what I expected and as a consequence I changed from a single to a joint course. If you wanna party, the SU and Medicine is good, but the societies are the highlight of my experience.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st March 2018
The campus is gorgeous and rated one of the most beautiful campuses in the Uk. It is known for its heritage in regards to the sufferagets
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There’s lgbt support nights as well as student union parties to celebrate equality.
Health and wellbeing services: 
There’s a doctors surgery on campus; you can get an appointment for as soon as possible. Staff are very nice and helpful
Support for international students: 
One of the top universities for international students. There is support for international students and how to become one.
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
I have no idea. But I have heard there is a disability office and they will help you with everything. There a disabled access for every buildings.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th February 2018
Beautiful campus with a great sense of community. Lovely people, great access to facilities and a wide variety of activities to take part in.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th March 2018
Beautiful campus, new library looks amazing and most staff are very supportive. Lots of events run by the SU.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th March 2018
Good buildings, free parking for students off campus, friendly staff, friendly students. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
The campus is beautiful, but does not accommodate the amount of student especially the library. The facilities are perfect for the their purpose. I love my course but I could have more support. I've had no issues with the student union. I have loved my university experience.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Could have more fairer financial supports.
Health and wellbeing services: 
They have been very helpful and quickly responded to people.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

22nd February 2018
The campus is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen, especially in the snow! It’s also the perfect size to walk around as you can get from your accommodation to the lecture in exactly 7 minutes. It’s about a 15 to the nearest station which has a straight train to central London and Windsor which is a good place for shopping and places to eat. The health centre is awful; you can expect to wait up to a week for an appointment and for counselling services. The SU shop is also extremely overpriced but convienent is you just need the essentials like bread etc. Lecture theatres are excellent or quite frankly abysmal depending on your course. For history, the facilities are generally very nice but you will Move about due to changes in the timetable. I know that Buisness and Management have lectures in one of the nicer buildings and the lectures are also recorded to re-watch later. The History course is both good and bad. The compulsory first year modules can be boring and seem pointless at times and it seems to take a while for assements to be marked. There are some really informative and passionate lecturers as well which really helps. We get some really cool guest speakers such as public historian Greg Jenner (Horrible Histories). In terms of workload, there is a fair amount of essay writing but the course requires A LOT of reading. The Student Union is average. Some good themes nights out and events such as the weekly ‘Give it a go’ activities and Disney movie nights. It also seems good at making changes, just not major ones in regards to changing facilities. Careers services seem to be quite good. I have not gone to them myself but there are always events being held by different industries and a termly careers fairs. The organisation of the University is good. On the first day, everything was clearly laid out for you for what you had to do and sign up for. If you need help they make it clear who and where you need to go to, even if the process is quite long. Overall, I’d recommend the university to someone who enjoys a small and quiet environment and not after the typical “wild party” experience offered by other universities.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
They hold lots of nights out for LGBT support such as the ‘Rainbow Rave’ which is very popular. They offer bursaries for low-income students to help with the cost of things and so that you don’t miss out on some experiences. However, things like a year abroad and some of the activities are incredibly expensive and so seem to be available for very high-income students.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Awful. Staff are rude and the waiting time for the services is 2 weeks. I am lucky enough to come from near by and so just use my GP from home still.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th February 2018
My course was beyond expectations. I have a great time and go to all my classes. Lots to do on campus and great nightlife. Everyone is super friendly and it's a beautiful campus with a state of the art library.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Hunter James's picture

Hunter James

24th February 2018
University is amazing. A bit further away from central London but overall extremely nice. Not much to complain about if I’m honest.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th February 2018
Amazing University, very aesthetic and brilliant facilities available in the new library. Courses are very well structured and taught.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th March 2018
Most beautiful campus in my opinion (after Cambridge and Oxford). New library is a madness. Biomed is decent. Egham is dead though...
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th March 2018
The campus is wonderful and the library is excellent however there needs to be more spaces in the library. The teachers and lecturers are all extremely helpful and I love my course !
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There is several bursaries and hardship forms available
Health and wellbeing services: 
Doctors services always extremely slow, rude receptionists, and unhelpful
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Disability and dyslexia services
Show Subcategories
Anna Everson's picture

Anna Everson

7th August 2018
I was there once, because my friend studied there and they had a meeting of graduates. Therefore, I was honored with a small excursion. I can say that I have never seen a more beautiful university. If I were the director of films, I would shoot my film there. People were friendly, staff, too. However, special attention should be paid to the library. The library fascinates you at first sight. It would be more than such universities.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anna Everson's picture

Anna Everson

7th August 2018
I was there once, because my friend studied there and they had a meeting of graduates. Therefore, I was honored with a small excursion. I can say that I have never seen a more beautiful university. If I were the director of films, I would shoot my film there. People were friendly, staff, too. However, special attention should be paid to the library. The library fascinates you at first sight. It would be more than such universities.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

6th July 2018
Beautiful campus with amazing teachers and facilities. Good structure within the departments and general school organization. A well rounded school offering many different subjects and extracurricular activities for students. The wifi tends to periodically stop working but it depends on location. The departments are very dedicated to making sure students find careers after graduating a huge plus in today's economy. One limit is lack of variety in work; science and math department's are required to write multiple essay's which within certain departments doesn't make sense as a way to test knowledge. A boarder range of work for students would be extremely helpful for students to learn.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional