Sheffield Hallam University Reviews

User
ranking
51/354

Sheffield Hallam University Reviews

4.0 / 679 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    307
  • 4 Stars
    233
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    40
  • 1 Star
    16
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Sophie Auton's picture

Sophie Auton

11th May 2018
Staff are really supportive although communication about changes to courses is not always transmitted efficiently. The university is a great community though
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Great on-campus doctors and wellbeing service
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
Campus is good, the facilities are great. The course is good, but with little contact time and real life experience. Union is great and the open days are a blast. The union is good for food and a pint and also a game of pool. Some good quizes and also a great start to a nihht out. The uni is good, however info from lectures can be contradictory and the marking seems a bit all over the place. Careers service, do a lecture on it every term at least twice, which althougg is good it seems like theyre finding things to fill the time with so they dong have to teach.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

5th February 2018
the university on a whole is excellent, however the timetables are inconsistent which can be frustrating .
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

4th February 2018
It's a very easy to navigate university with two campus' s that aren't that far away from each other. The facilities of the university themselves are very clean and well kept. Lots of help and support offered for people who need help.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd February 2018
Good university. Lecturers sometimes not as helpful as you would want them to be. The campus is in a good location. The union is rubbish but the uni of Sheffield union is much better.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Havva Mercimekoglu's picture

Havva Mercimekoglu

2nd February 2018
Good university there are lots of extra curricular activities to improve yourself. Also they really help international students to adopt the city and university.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I have no idea
Health and wellbeing services: 
Whenever you need you can go to doctors they are really helpful
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Really good
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th January 2018
Sheffield Hallam is an interesting University I’m not going to lie. It isn’t what I expected it to be like so the reality of it vs the expectation has disappointed me a little bit. I was expecting pure independence and to have the time of my life. People say that “university is the best years of your life” but I’d disagree. They don’t tell you about the loneliness, the breakdowns or the extremity of the debt. Don’t get me wrong, elements of SHU are really good such as the student union nights and the distance between all necessary locations such as city centre, campus and other parts of Sheffield etc. The teaching staff are very good when it comes to the academics but it’s fair to say that when it comes to the wellbeing and the emotional support, it is not the greatest at all.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
As somebody who struggles with severe mental health problems that the university are aware of, the support that I have received has been poor and the majority of the help that I have had due to mental health issues is the support from outside organisations rather than the university themselves
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

6th February 2018
i feel that the university is good and that the staff are very kind and useful towards your study's. But when it comes down to timetabled lessons alot of the teachers never turn up on time what makes it alot harder to learn then when i was in college!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

11th February 2018
The uni has a great campus. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, continuously offering support and guidance throughout the duration of your course. The extra societies that are part of the uni are great. There are many sports teams and also extra events such as HR Network that allows you to gain experience and an understanding of what industry will be like.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th February 2018
Big range of facilities, organisation of student nights out and society events good. Course is really enjoyable and interesting
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
The campus is straightforward and easy to get around, there’s always staff around to help you find your way. The facilities are good and there’s always a place to study or meet a tutor if needs be to improve on your studies and grades. This is essential to university and Hallam supplies that well. I study law and although it is difficult there are many resources in the library and online that are available to me when I need them. The university supplies much help during lectures and seminars with relevant material, books, articles to study from and there’s always tutors around to help with this or to help improve aspects of your studying. The student union could be improved slightly by incorporating all the courses so the social aspect to enjoy a wide range of social activities with the whole of the courses. The careers service I have found are exceptional, there are career fairs which have been helpful to volunteer and find companies which I know are helpful to me and many other students. There are also events of career speakers and even the tutors which are inspirational and help me guide myself into the right direction when picking my modules for next year and for my further career path. I have found on a whole, Hallam university has been a pleasant place to enrol at and even though I changed my course it was done promptly and well which allowed me to changed swiftly and I was welcomed into the class and the course by all individuals which has made my first semester enjoyable.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I have many friends on my course who are from different backgrounds to myself all of which, have been welcomed no differently and are respected across the course and tutors. No prejudice or discrimination takes place as everyone here I feel is equal and is treated in that way.
Health and wellbeing services: 
I have needed some physical and mental aspects and I have the correct knowledge and understanding of who to go to and who will help effectively. This will allow me to work effectively with correct treatment etc and enjoy my time.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
N/A
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

28th January 2018
The campus itself is quite lovely; especially in recent years. They have built new buildings that are beautiful, there are outdoor balconies to sit on. The equipment available to students is good, especially studying an IT related subject. There are labs available where you can take advantage virtual machines, create entire networks, play with switches, routers and make your own server. There is also a dedicated penetration testing channel that can be used to better your hacking skills. The course is good, but I believe there are some lecturers that require improvement, however the university does listen to it's students and takes complaints seriously.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Olivia Doolan's picture

Olivia Doolan

13th February 2018
Love the location of the uni! The campus is always clean and there is a friendly atmosphere. The facilities are amazing with a brand new stem lab having just been built.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

6th February 2018
Very nice facilities with great equipment and quite organize. I am studying psychology, and the staff and tutors are enthusiastic about their work and most of them are helpful. Some of the courses seem to be quite vague at times and not in much depth and sometimes repeating the same staff. In general though I am quite satisfied with my course and the uni.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th February 2018
Great party life, campus is clean modern and stylish
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
They have extra funds
Health and wellbeing services: 
Really good doctors practice
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Unsure
Show Subcategories
Alice Willoughby's picture

Alice Willoughby

12th December 2017
Modern university with great facilities. The granary cafe is the best and served hot delicious food every day. Staff all friendly and helpful. Collegiate campus situated on ecclesall road which is an excellent location as it is near many bars and nice restaurants.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th December 2017
Friendly, lively uni where you meet loads of people from different places and backgrounds. Nightlife is amazing lots of choice in going out.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

1st December 2017
Course poorly organised, grading criteria unclear and more often than not ignored by tutors. Only gets more than one star because of good facilities Student union is virtually nonexistent, no club nights, food and drink too expensive. Cheaper to go elsewhere
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Facilities are great, campus is quiet, not in the busy city area. Career services are great, and managable around timetable, sports facilities a are good. Library is big and easily accessable. Physical Ed and school sport is a great course, offering fantastic opportunities around sport and teaching, excellent lecturing and support with APA's.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Good
Health and wellbeing services: 
Good
Support for international students: 
Good
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Good
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th December 2017
Overall Sheffield Hallam is a very good University and I am glad that I’m thenend I decided to come here. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and they try their best to make every new transitioning student feel welcome when they move. However, the only criticism that I would give about them is the fact that when somebody complains to the university about a very serious matter (drug abuse and mental health) the university appeared to push it to the side and didn’t really offer much guidance. Apart from that Hallam is a class uni
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
They are ok but like I previously stated, pushing aside drug abuse and mental health just because it didn’t happen on campus isn’t that great
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional