Sheffield Hallam University Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars based on 604 reviews
4.0 / 604 reviews
5 Stars
201
4 Stars
274
3 Stars
76
2 Stars
37
1 Star
16
Campus/University buildings
4.5 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Learning facilities
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Student Union
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Careers service
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 59 reviews
Inclusivity
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 41 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
4.3 out of 5 stars based on 45 reviews
Support for international students
4.6 out of 5 stars based on 19 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 37 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Sophie Auton's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Sophie Auton

11th May 2018
Staff are really supportive although communication about changes to courses is not always transmitted efficiently. The university is a great community though
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Great on-campus doctors and wellbeing service
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

20th March 2018
Collegiate campus is pretty big, built on a hill, which is very annoying when you’re in a building at the top of the hill and have to walk from near the bottom, but very pretty campus. The catering is very good in heart of the campus with hot meals provided and sandwiches. The library offers sandwiches cheap on a shu card which is good but more choice would be good. My course is very good.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

18th March 2018
Facilities - Lack of IT equipment on Collegiate Campus Course - Lack of variation in elective modules Career Services - Very useful service, perhaps the best feature of the university is there support in careers and helping you enhance your CV etc
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

17th March 2018
There are two campuses in great locations, with both having great facilities. My course, law, is fab and the lecturers are enthusiastic and helpful! The student union is located by the city campus and always puts on a good range of activities, as well as a freebie fair and societies fair at the start of the year! 10/10 would recommend
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
This is easily accessed and the support gained is fantastic.
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

17th March 2018
My course Bsc Geography has been the worst experience of my entire life. Each year has just been terrible, the modules have been unexciting and actually made me want to change course because of it. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

16th March 2018
The uni is an amazing place to study where I have found many friends and love overall. I believe it is a amazing area that consists of social and physical attractions.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

14th March 2018
Lovely campus and good course did adult nursing. Provided plenty of opportunities career wise and gave us important information
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

14th March 2018
Overall Sheffield Hallam University (SHU) has been a massive disappointment for me. The offers of equality and diversity that are expressed to me before university are not matched in reality. As a student who suffers with mental health problems, the university doesn’t really take that into consideration very much. They have their moments but do not deliver the support that they say they do in their prospectus
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There isn’t really much done with inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The mental health service is awful at SHU
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
They have a team I suppose but nothing special
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Really good university with all the help you could need. The tutors go out their way to help and the people make it worthwhile. You become part of a wide family and this makes the uni experience amazing!
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Campus is good, the facilities are great. The course is good, but with little contact time and real life experience. Union is great and the open days are a blast. The union is good for food and a pint and also a game of pool. Some good quizes and also a great start to a nihht out. The uni is good, however info from lectures can be contradictory and the marking seems a bit all over the place. Careers service, do a lecture on it every term at least twice, which althougg is good it seems like theyre finding things to fill the time with so they dong have to teach.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Sheffield Hallam is an interesting University I’m not going to lie. It isn’t what I expected it to be like so the reality of it vs the expectation has disappointed me a little bit. I was expecting pure independence and to have the time of my life. People say that “university is the best years of your life” but I’d disagree. They don’t tell you about the loneliness, the breakdowns or the extremity of the debt. Don’t get me wrong, elements of SHU are really good such as the student union nights and the distance between all necessary locations such as city centre, campus and other parts of Sheffield etc. The teaching staff are very good when it comes to the academics but it’s fair to say that when it comes to the wellbeing and the emotional support, it is not the greatest at all.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
As somebody who struggles with severe mental health problems that the university are aware of, the support that I have received has been poor and the majority of the help that I have had due to mental health issues is the support from outside organisations rather than the university themselves
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The campus itself is quite lovely; especially in recent years. They have built new buildings that are beautiful, there are outdoor balconies to sit on. The equipment available to students is good, especially studying an IT related subject. There are labs available where you can take advantage virtual machines, create entire networks, play with switches, routers and make your own server. There is also a dedicated penetration testing channel that can be used to better your hacking skills. The course is good, but I believe there are some lecturers that require improvement, however the university does listen to it's students and takes complaints seriously.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The campus is straightforward and easy to get around, there’s always staff around to help you find your way. The facilities are good and there’s always a place to study or meet a tutor if needs be to improve on your studies and grades. This is essential to university and Hallam supplies that well. I study law and although it is difficult there are many resources in the library and online that are available to me when I need them. The university supplies much help during lectures and seminars with relevant material, books, articles to study from and there’s always tutors around to help with this or to help improve aspects of your studying. The student union could be improved slightly by incorporating all the courses so the social aspect to enjoy a wide range of social activities with the whole of the courses. The careers service I have found are exceptional, there are career fairs which have been helpful to volunteer and find companies which I know are helpful to me and many other students. There are also events of career speakers and even the tutors which are inspirational and help me guide myself into the right direction when picking my modules for next year and for my further career path. I have found on a whole, Hallam university has been a pleasant place to enrol at and even though I changed my course it was done promptly and well which allowed me to changed swiftly and I was welcomed into the class and the course by all individuals which has made my first semester enjoyable.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I have many friends on my course who are from different backgrounds to myself all of which, have been welcomed no differently and are respected across the course and tutors. No prejudice or discrimination takes place as everyone here I feel is equal and is treated in that way.
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I have needed some physical and mental aspects and I have the correct knowledge and understanding of who to go to and who will help effectively. This will allow me to work effectively with correct treatment etc and enjoy my time.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
N/A
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Good university there are lots of extra curricular activities to improve yourself. Also they really help international students to adopt the city and university.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I have no idea
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Whenever you need you can go to doctors they are really helpful
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Really good
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Good university. Lecturers sometimes not as helpful as you would want them to be. The campus is in a good location. The union is rubbish but the uni of Sheffield union is much better.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
It's a very easy to navigate university with two campus' s that aren't that far away from each other. The facilities of the university themselves are very clean and well kept. Lots of help and support offered for people who need help.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
the university on a whole is excellent, however the timetables are inconsistent which can be frustrating .
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Very nice facilities with great equipment and quite organize. I am studying psychology, and the staff and tutors are enthusiastic about their work and most of them are helpful. Some of the courses seem to be quite vague at times and not in much depth and sometimes repeating the same staff. In general though I am quite satisfied with my course and the uni.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
i feel that the university is good and that the staff are very kind and useful towards your study's. But when it comes down to timetabled lessons alot of the teachers never turn up on time what makes it alot harder to learn then when i was in college!
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The uni has a great campus. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, continuously offering support and guidance throughout the duration of your course. The extra societies that are part of the uni are great. There are many sports teams and also extra events such as HR Network that allows you to gain experience and an understanding of what industry will be like.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories

Pages