The University of Brighton Reviews

User
ranking
69/354

The University of Brighton Reviews

4.0 / 246 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Star
    5
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Harrison Brodby's picture

Harrison Brodby

27th April 2018
Are pointless lectures that have no relation to the course and teachers who don’t know what there doing, then Brighton humanities course is for you. I’m still in my first year but I’ve had enough time to understand that the staff don’t know what they’re talking about. The the money we spend isn’t going on our education either it’s just going into building a student city campus at the opposite campus to mine so great work Brighton. It’s absymal efforts from the uni to improve your chances of being employed in the future.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
None excitant
Health and wellbeing services: 
None excitant
Support for international students: 
None excitant
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
None excitant
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd February 2018
I am studying Media Studies at the moulsecoomb campus. I have just a finished my first semester and as a first impressions review I would say that the campus is not exactly modern but it has a Starbucks which is good. The teachers are all nice but some could be doing more for the students. I am having a great time and I would recommend the uni if you are thinking about studying here
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Everyone I have met has been very open and welcoming to every single person no matter their sexuality
Health and wellbeing services: 
The options are there if you need them but I have not yet needed it
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
There are lifts and stuff but there are lots of doors that are not power disabled which could be a hindrance
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

2nd February 2018
Poor university and a joke of an accommodation. Prices being 7 grand for something ridiculous- no support our help when uni accommodation is wrong or poor. No help or guidance from the staff at the university however the mental health wellbeing at Brighton is great! Always on hand to help and very supportive. But overall I’ve had a poor experience.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th January 2018
Good university in a nice city. The nightlife is good and there is only a short journey from uni to town. Lecture halls and classes are good
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

9th February 2018
Campus feels very scattered, love my course, no student bar which is terrible, facilities are good for learning and sport.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
Small and very friendly! It needs some more facilities, would love to see other clubs avaliable such as waterpolo or korfball which i play. I also think that more should be avaliable for people who travel feom home to uni such as timetable changes should be sent by text or email so that we can prevent making a long journey to uni to find that nothing is on and running
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th February 2018
I think Plumpton College is really great, the facilities are in a good condition e.g the showers have hot water running for a long time, the animals here are all looked after very well and teachers are great with helping students out.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

30th January 2018
The student union is amazing here and they're really informative and helpful when you have any issues.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

27th January 2018
Awful students union run by far left plebs, but solid teaching facilities and great location in the best student city uk.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Sam Watts's picture

Sam Watts

24th January 2018
I do fine art at the uni and get my own studio space. The facilities are amazing and the lecturers are good as the art profession.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd February 2018
The standard of teaching at the university of Brighton is good, however I do feel that there should be a more personal relationship with student and tutor, to gain the full potential from the student.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Alexandra Hawkins's picture

Alexandra Hawkins

15th November 2017
The course I am is great, particularly in the sense of community created between fellow students and the university staff. The lectures seem to really care anout your success and take the time to help you.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Although I am lucky enough to not have needed it myself but support appears to be readily accessible. After speaking to student who have used the services they seem to be great and readily accessible.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
My course can be pretty hit and miss, some great aspects and some not so great (I’m a third year of Criminology and Sociology) The main issue I’ve had with my course is it’s lack of organisation, sometimes you’d have lecturers/ seminar leaders introducing an assessment only a week before it’s due
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
More support for LGBT students, less for poorer students
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Everything on campus is disabled accessible
Show Subcategories
Lydia Molyneux's picture

Lydia Molyneux

15th November 2017
I study Interior Architecture and absolutely love it! I find the teachers to be really helpful in most aspects and enjoy the freedom we get. I do think it’s quite expensive and that’s quite annoying.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I feel there are quite a few things that make me, as a bisexual person, feel more included; but they’re not very prominent or spoken about much.
Health and wellbeing services: 
The doctors and SSGTs available are extremely helpful. I feel the counsellors could be less patronising and it doesn’t help when they’re busy and unavailable to offer the help I need, but they are really helpful.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The university is warm and welcoming, with excellent staff and facilities, the only downside is the lack of accommodation which many students missed out on and felt stressed due to spending the summer finding somewhere to live. The university should invest in this. The checkland building lecture hall on the calmer campus is a tad cramped for space but is far from the least uncomfortable lecture hall I have sat in (which was Lincolnshire on the open day, Oxford Brookes came top ). I have joined a drama society and am collaborating with students to set up a music's theatre society, the union is more than happy to help us in this. Furthermore the students union fights for what is right and gained us our free bus service back, it is wonderful to have such a determined group of people.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Fantastic society!! Open minded students all round xx
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Our campus is easy to navigate, and always clean. The facilities are well kept, my course is amazing with encouraging and enthusiastic lecturers.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Tasha Hughes's picture

Tasha Hughes

1st December 2017
It’s an average uni. Most lecturers i’ve had are good and generally helpful. I do have a problem understanding lecturers who’s first language isn’t english however. I also find that lecturers do not respond to emails at all which is a pain when you have assignments. I find brighton puts more emphasis on exams than coursework. Brighton is slightly unorganised as during freshers week many of my lectures were cancelled due to lecturers being off sick and having no replacement. There are multiple campuses, Moulsecoomb is probably the most outdated, the campus just doesn’t look that nice. Facilities are good for engineering students but I would say the computers are a little slow. I am not really involved with the student union but there are a fair amount of societies and clubs to join although most sports clubs require travel to the Falmer campus which can be annoying. I haven’t been involve in career services but they do send many emails about opportunities regarding your course. Most lecture slides are posted online but depending on the lecturer they are very minimal so attending lectures is essential for some modules as you will struggle to catch up unless you can copy notes.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
It’s brighton. There are many LGBT students and my course was very diverse so I don’t think such students would have problems
Health and wellbeing services: 
I found the personal tutor for my course to be good however email responses were non existent from lecturers.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
There are lifts but they’re quite slow
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th February 2018
The facilities are nice however could use a little updating in some aspects. The teachers are very supportive and I enjoy going to uni here
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Brighton only do a bursary for the first year other unis do it all the way throughout
Health and wellbeing services: 
N/a
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th February 2018
If you want to study pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences or go into medicine after a first degree, it’s a good call.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th February 2018
Everything is firn apart from their ability to mark exams quick enough, some modules are fine but some modules can take a get to mark exams. As well as, their organization is very poor or was very poor until the new personalised timetables were released in January 2018. And there are barely any places to park, students can never park at uni because of the lack of space
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages