The University of Brighton Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars based on 197 reviews
4.0 / 197 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
10
1 Star
5
Campus/University buildings
3.5 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Learning facilities
3.6 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Sports facilities
3.6 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Student Union
3.3 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Careers service
3.3 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Organisation
3.2 out of 5 stars based on 33 reviews
Inclusivity
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 27 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
3.5 out of 5 stars based on 23 reviews
Support for international students
3.7 out of 5 stars based on 10 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.7 out of 5 stars based on 23 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Harrison Brodby's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Harrison Brodby

27th April 2018
Are pointless lectures that have no relation to the course and teachers who don’t know what there doing, then Brighton humanities course is for you. I’m still in my first year but I’ve had enough time to understand that the staff don’t know what they’re talking about. The the money we spend isn’t going on our education either it’s just going into building a student city campus at the opposite campus to mine so great work Brighton. It’s absymal efforts from the uni to improve your chances of being employed in the future.
Campus/University buildings
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
None excitant
Health and wellbeing services
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
None excitant
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
None excitant
Support and facilities for disabled students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
None excitant
Show Subcategories
Jake Ovenden's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Jake Ovenden

21st March 2018
Great uni but room for improvements. All the campuses are split up so there isn’t much a of a ‘campus community’ feel. Nice lecture theatres and lecturers, however the organisation of the course and the assessment can be poorly organised.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

20th March 2018
I have great enjoyed my time at the University of Brighton and while I am eager to complete my degree, attending the university has been a truly positive experience. My BSc (Hons) Mechanical Engineering has challenged me to effectively manage my time to meet deadlines while also putting in the necessary hours on my own for exam preparation. While it hasn’t been a completely smooth ride, I have become stronger in the face of setbacks and look forward to getting my degree in the next few years. Outside of the classroom, I have also grown as an athlete as part of the Brighton Panthers American Football team. Formerly called Brighton Tsunami, we are now officially part of the university and will be playing in the South East Division 2 Championship game this weekend.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

16th March 2018
The university of brighton is an excellent uni to go too! There is so much help to guide you through the daunting deadline days. The tutors and teachers are all lovely and help yoy with anything, even personal problems!
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Sam Watts's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Sam Watts

13th March 2018
I do fine art at the uni and get my own studio space. The facilities are amazing and the lecturers are good as the art profession.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Good university in a nice city. The nightlife is good and there is only a short journey from uni to town. Lecture halls and classes are good
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Awful students union run by far left plebs, but solid teaching facilities and great location in the best student city uk.
Campus/University buildings
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Small and very friendly! It needs some more facilities, would love to see other clubs avaliable such as waterpolo or korfball which i play. I also think that more should be avaliable for people who travel feom home to uni such as timetable changes should be sent by text or email so that we can prevent making a long journey to uni to find that nothing is on and running
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The student union is amazing here and they're really informative and helpful when you have any issues.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Poor university and a joke of an accommodation. Prices being 7 grand for something ridiculous- no support our help when uni accommodation is wrong or poor. No help or guidance from the staff at the university however the mental health wellbeing at Brighton is great! Always on hand to help and very supportive. But overall I’ve had a poor experience.
Campus/University buildings
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
I am studying Media Studies at the moulsecoomb campus. I have just a finished my first semester and as a first impressions review I would say that the campus is not exactly modern but it has a Starbucks which is good. The teachers are all nice but some could be doing more for the students. I am having a great time and I would recommend the uni if you are thinking about studying here
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Everyone I have met has been very open and welcoming to every single person no matter their sexuality
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The options are there if you need them but I have not yet needed it
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There are lifts and stuff but there are lots of doors that are not power disabled which could be a hindrance
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The standard of teaching at the university of Brighton is good, however I do feel that there should be a more personal relationship with student and tutor, to gain the full potential from the student.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
I think Plumpton College is really great, the facilities are in a good condition e.g the showers have hot water running for a long time, the animals here are all looked after very well and teachers are great with helping students out.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Campus feels very scattered, love my course, no student bar which is terrible, facilities are good for learning and sport.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Alexandra Hawkins's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Alexandra Hawkins

13th March 2018
The course I am is great, particularly in the sense of community created between fellow students and the university staff. The lectures seem to really care anout your success and take the time to help you.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Although I am lucky enough to not have needed it myself but support appears to be readily accessible. After speaking to student who have used the services they seem to be great and readily accessible.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
Our campus is easy to navigate, and always clean. The facilities are well kept, my course is amazing with encouraging and enthusiastic lecturers.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
My course can be pretty hit and miss, some great aspects and some not so great (I’m a third year of Criminology and Sociology) The main issue I’ve had with my course is it’s lack of organisation, sometimes you’d have lecturers/ seminar leaders introducing an assessment only a week before it’s due
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
More support for LGBT students, less for poorer students
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Everything on campus is disabled accessible
Show Subcategories
Lydia Molyneux's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Lydia Molyneux

13th March 2018
I study Interior Architecture and absolutely love it! I find the teachers to be really helpful in most aspects and enjoy the freedom we get. I do think it’s quite expensive and that’s quite annoying.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I feel there are quite a few things that make me, as a bisexual person, feel more included; but they’re not very prominent or spoken about much.
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The doctors and SSGTs available are extremely helpful. I feel the counsellors could be less patronising and it doesn’t help when they’re busy and unavailable to offer the help I need, but they are really helpful.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th March 2018
The university is warm and welcoming, with excellent staff and facilities, the only downside is the lack of accommodation which many students missed out on and felt stressed due to spending the summer finding somewhere to live. The university should invest in this. The checkland building lecture hall on the calmer campus is a tad cramped for space but is far from the least uncomfortable lecture hall I have sat in (which was Lincolnshire on the open day, Oxford Brookes came top ). I have joined a drama society and am collaborating with students to set up a music's theatre society, the union is more than happy to help us in this. Furthermore the students union fights for what is right and gained us our free bus service back, it is wonderful to have such a determined group of people.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Fantastic society!! Open minded students all round xx
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Tasha Hughes's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Tasha Hughes

13th March 2018
It’s an average uni. Most lecturers i’ve had are good and generally helpful. I do have a problem understanding lecturers who’s first language isn’t english however. I also find that lecturers do not respond to emails at all which is a pain when you have assignments. I find brighton puts more emphasis on exams than coursework. Brighton is slightly unorganised as during freshers week many of my lectures were cancelled due to lecturers being off sick and having no replacement. There are multiple campuses, Moulsecoomb is probably the most outdated, the campus just doesn’t look that nice. Facilities are good for engineering students but I would say the computers are a little slow. I am not really involved with the student union but there are a fair amount of societies and clubs to join although most sports clubs require travel to the Falmer campus which can be annoying. I haven’t been involve in career services but they do send many emails about opportunities regarding your course. Most lecture slides are posted online but depending on the lecturer they are very minimal so attending lectures is essential for some modules as you will struggle to catch up unless you can copy notes.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
It’s brighton. There are many LGBT students and my course was very diverse so I don’t think such students would have problems
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I found the personal tutor for my course to be good however email responses were non existent from lecturers.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There are lifts but they’re quite slow
Show Subcategories

Pages