The University of Central Lancashire Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars based on 119 reviews
4.2 / 119 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
Campus/University buildings
4.3 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Learning facilities
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Sports facilities
4.5 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Careers service
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Organisation
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 76 reviews
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 4 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
4.4 out of 5 stars based on 5 reviews
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 3 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.3 out of 5 stars based on 3 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th July 2018
Absolutely love this university. I wasn’t a fan about coming to uni, but now I’ve been I couldn’t imagine being without it. The friends I’ve made and people I’ve met have been amazing and I wouldn’t change it for the world.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th July 2018
The University of Central lancashire granted me the best three years of my life. I lived with amazing people from many diverse places in campus which had everything I needed and more in such a close space, nothing was out of reach. My course and tutors are incredible and do not get enough credit for the above and beyond service they deliever. They are the Universities biggest credit. Although, there is spacing issue in the building my course takes place in and the students union requires a revamp to be geared towards all students rather than a select few there are very new negatives as a whole with the uni. I would highly recommend to anyone applying.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th July 2018
The campus is good overall. A few of the budings are old so they're very cold in the winter or hot in the summer. But there are new more innovative uni buildings being built. I enjoy my course and my lecturers are always willing to help me out if I need any help. Free gym membership for all students at uclan with a range of different equipment.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There's an LGBT society and a Harris bursary to help people attend from poorer households.
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Free councillors at the uni. The only problem is there's a long waiting list and it's only once every 2 weeks.
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The student union organises extra events for the international students.
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Jasmine  Rawsthorne's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Jasmine Rawsthorne

7th July 2018
Great campus, which is now being done up to include more buildings for engineering students. Well kept, Great resources in labs and the library which is open 24/7. University wide events and exams are well organised as were the majority of my classes, only one or two members of staff that caused a dampened experience for me!
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Pride group society and celebration of lgbt memberable events
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Lecturers and teachers don't tend to notice if students need mental health support or suggest help. But if you look for it/ask for help there is a great range of things available and support that can be put in place
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

4th July 2018
For nightlife, Preston is good for a couple of years, then towards the end it starts to become a bit boring. It is a city but a small one so it's not too busy all the time but more busy than a town.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

2nd July 2018
UCLAN has a massive campus with different zones and buildings around. It keeps renovating the facilities and building in order to suit the students need which is a good thing. It has a 24/7 library during term time which helps a lot when you have your own schedule. Also, it offers a career corner for students to help to find their own paths after graduation.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

26th June 2018
Amazing university. I transferred here from a uni in London and from the start UCLAN did everything to help from admissions through to student finance. Everyone knows their information and they give the best advice.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I was overwhelmed with my studies and was assigned a councillor and was given different materials to help
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

26th June 2018
I think that it is such a big place and so many people go here and are friendly and they make sure that you know everything about your course and if you need extra help
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Make sure that everyone is treated the same
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Always make sure that you have some kind of support no matter what condition
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Don’t exclude them because of their disability
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

24th June 2018
I have spent 5 years at uclan with both my Ba and Ma in Fashion. The campus area is small and has basic amenities but needs more- there is a huge amount of development at the moment but the Victoria building in perticular is diar! I’d like me you are working there through the holidays, all the shops etc close which is pretty unhelpful. This being said, I have loved my time at uni, the course is the reason I chose uclan and although I have had my doubts, it was worth it. Fashion has got a mix of tutors, most are not perticularly hands on and expect a high standard from you where as others do have a high standard but are more than happy to get stuck in and go the extra mile for you- this is a minority though! I have been lucky enough to not need other support whilst I have been there but I know that tutors have been supportive of students with other issues.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Katie  Hull's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Katie Hull

21st June 2018
I am a current student studying a BA (Hons) Business and Marketing Student based on the Preston Campus. My course is the best I think, and the support I receive academically is at a high standard. The University is investing money and infrastructure in future students who study at the University. In addition, I recommend the Well-being service who are in place to help you in anyway they can including de-stressing in exam season.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Excellent and very supportive
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
N/A
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Really supportive, and helpful!
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

18th June 2018
The campus is very large but laid out so easily with signs etc and lots of places to socialise / eat around every corner. The facilities are amazing and are very diverse and has disabled and transgender toilets. The course overall is very flexible for you to discover your strengths and weakness however some of lectures are made over complicated and lecturers can be very impersonal.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Amazing. I’m not lgbt but it’s widely accepted across the university and there toilets that cater for the transgender community. Gay pride was widely celebrated on campus. Brilliant diversity,acceptance and attitudes of staff and students across the uni.
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
okay..I struggle with anxiety and depression which leads to panic attacks. The university have support services but getting responses takes a long time and often they leave me to arrange it all. Which actually cause more stress and anxiety. I feel there should be more communication.
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Lifts in most building accept the various few which they will arrange rooms and cater for the persons needs. support is widely available. I’ve been so happy to see a disabled student in my class be able to have access to so many of the facilities and no have any boundaries around campus
Show Subcategories
Shelton Smith's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Shelton Smith

15th June 2018
New facilities built in time for semester two; really stylish modern designs, new master plan for the area underway, it is insane how their developments are coming along.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
From poorer backgrounds from first hand I can agree with.
Health and wellbeing services
Never used the University GP, however I hear it is good.
Support for international students
N/A
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Lecturer prints on coulored paper for my Dyslecia
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th June 2018
Best three years of my life, met the most amazing people and hopefully friends for a long time. I had a great experience as the university campus suited me well, I would say it’s not a busy city environment but it was homely and calm. It also had The best coffee machines on campus alongside with places to relax, play snooker and ping pong. In terms of my course, I’d describe it as challenging but I learnt so much at the same time. There was always support when needed but I believe there could be improvements in certain lecturers having different teaching methods. I was always given support into finding a job, interview prep in my final year and still given support transitioning into work. Overall, I loved my uni experience, the university is suited for those that want a homely and calm environment compared to big city universities.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
When I was going through depression, there was services available however appointments were hard to make as they were constantly busy, and clashes with your timetable.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

13th June 2018
I love uclan, the facilities are brilliant. The campus is a perfect location for me commuting, it is a 10 minute walk from the train station. The facilities are brilliant, with the university offering a free membership to the gym and classes. I love my course: forensic psychology and the lecturers and support is amazing. I still need to take advantage of the careers service but I am aware you can just walk in and have a conversation with an expert regarding your career pathway. The canteen is reasonably priced and the food they serve is good. The student union is also very good and easy to approach. The library is perfect for all needs, with silent areas, computer areas and more. They also have a large variety of books and journals for every course.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

10th June 2018
UCLan has lots of facilities for all of its students. From my experience class sizes are small and so it is easy to learn and communicate with the lecturers comfortably. The university offers a large library for its students which means i dont need to pay for textbooks.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I am part of these communities and have not had my studies effected by either.
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

6th June 2018
I studied nursing and the course was mostly well taught and made interesting, however there were a few timetabling issues over the three years which caused a few problems. The campus was in a good fairly central location with most of the buildings close together. They also provide a free gym membership which is a bonus that I haven’t heard of other universities offering. I enjoyed my experience at uclan overall and would recommend studying there.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

4th June 2018
Good campus, courses and staff, the experience is amazing and fantastic and loads of support, it's a lot of fun doing the course I want to do and achieve the degree I have wanted for a while
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Gidone Savareikaite's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Gidone Savareikaite

4th May 2018
Reflecting upon my three years here, I definitely think the facilities could be more up to date. Although there are developments being made, it could be more modern. My course was lacking practical exercises however there is a great support team for students and graduates. Moreover the criterion upon which students get accepted is quite low, which unfortunately defines an ugly image for the school, however the staff and students are of.diverse backgrounds. Also, free gym membership is definitely a positive. Plus, nightlife is one of the best in England, making it the perfect English uni experience, especially for.foreign students.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Not Applicable
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Long waiting lists.
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

2nd May 2018
Friendly staff+ great tutors/lectures. People who are always keen on helping students and who always find solutions to problems. It's situated in Preston which is a wonderful city. Absolutely love my course
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

2nd May 2018
Very friendly staff + great tutors/lecturers. Wonderful courses. We can have all the help we need as everyone is keen on helping and encouraging the students.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories

Pages