University of Derby Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars based on 197 reviews
4.2 / 197 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
69
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
Campus/University buildings
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Sports facilities
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Student Union
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Careers service
3.9 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Organisation
3.7 out of 5 stars based on 79 reviews
Inclusivity
4.4 out of 5 stars based on 9 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
4.8 out of 5 stars based on 10 reviews
Support for international students
4.8 out of 5 stars based on 4 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.4 out of 5 stars based on 5 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
I was studying in their London campus (LCUCK) and I would say the actual university was good, but the Campus wasn't that great.If you managed to study in Derby, don't be afraid I recommend them.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
Quite a good university, really enjoy the facilities such as the library and student food services. I feel there could be a much better nightlife. The gym is also below average but there are many university gyms you can use nearby. Overall, i Do recommend this university.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
some good lgbt events
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
not any experience
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
seems ok
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
not sure
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th July 2018
Studied online. Very convenient and well priced compared to other options, although the system takes some getting used too.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

30th June 2018
Culinary arts program is an extremely good one there. You’ll gain a lot of practical and theoretical knowledge there. The facilities in there are new, up to date and really comfortable to work in. All of the essentials and more are present in the kitchens the university provides. Not only that, but you can also practice your skills with the ingredients you want to, because the lecturers are extremely keen on what they are doing and would order them without hesitation.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Have not heard of any LGBT events in the uni
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There’s a whole building in the site which you can go to if you are in need of mental support. The staff there is very knowledgeble of what they are doing
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Extremely inclusive. A lot of care is taken to make international students intergrate smoothly and as fast as possible.
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Have not seen any facilities specifically built for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

28th June 2018
Well my experience it was hard very stressful put worth it at end like you can be what ever set mind with hard work it will pay off . With the support from friends n family n teaches you can.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Tbh think everyone should have chance going to uni should matter what area from where come from anything possible if set mind to it
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Good I have no complaints
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Think need to be more one to one more time explain better
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Nothing say about that put good
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

28th June 2018
University of Derby is good for socialising and good for the amount of support you get. Lecturers tend to reply to emails promptly and usually you can rely on messaging friends if you need additional help in regards to assigment briefs or semester start dates etc. Uni bus is now free so that’s good, all you need to do is show your I.d and you’re good to go! Assignments tend to have very detailed briefs, so when you follow then 100% you’re likely to get 2:1 or scrape a 1:1. You get lots of support for careers throughout your academic journey and even afterwards also they have a brand new sports centre!
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

27th June 2018
Studying Architectural Technology, I found the course far too Arty, unorganised and no where near Techincal enough. However, the Tutors knowledge of their area of speciality is excellent. The Uni itself was hard to gauge due to only being a part time student.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

16th June 2018
Really lovely campus and staff and high level of teaching very please with course choice and support available, accomodation lovely and modern and well provided for
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

14th June 2018
The location is alright; the lectures quality are fine however part of the lecturers can’t really be bothered to waste their time on you. Whenever you need help; they never be there for you. Overall it’s a fine university
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

11th June 2018
Good uni, course and campus is great however teaching could be improved as many are not very knowledgable about how essays are graded
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th June 2018
Amazing, really friendly tutors were amazing and understanding regular emails from careers services. Joined part way through my studies but was helpt to catch up and make friends
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Alex Youngs's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Alex Youngs

6th June 2018
So I did a theatre course at Derby and it was by far the worst course I have ever been on. The lecturers are absolutely brilliant - but the university couldn’t give two craps about the theatre course because it doesn’t make them any money. All of the sports courses are lauded over everyone’s head and all of the sports teams are given so much attention and support. Derby Theatre - which is owned by the university, couldn’t care less about the courses, giving incredibly little time and effort into coming to see the shows or marketing them - so the entire course feels like you’re being shoved aside for something or someone that makes money. Cannot fault any (but a few) of the lecturers - genuinely wonderful people trying their best with the shit they’ve been given.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

6th June 2018
On my course at this university I was only required to attend for 3 hours, 1 evening a week. While it meant I was able to work full time and have time to get the coursework done, it also meant that face to face time was sort of lacking... especially when some of it is spent repeating what we already Did! On the whole I've had a good experience, the tutors I've worked with are helpful and will explain things further if needed and look at coursework drafts. My lecturer is an expert in my course and so there isn't much he can't tell us, but he also wrote the course so knows what we need to know. I would recommend study here, just be prepared to eat from subway every time you want to get food!
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Ellen  Putnam's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Ellen Putnam

4th June 2018
My course is very well organised and taught exceptionally. The campus itself has a wonderful and uplifting vibe which makes you exited to go to University. The University is welcoming to all and the student union are so enthusiastic. There is also an amazing gym on campus making it accessible with a great membership price for students.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Always showing their support by putting up banners, posters, organising events.
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The well-being centre is an amazing service, on campus, accessible, confidential.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The university is well adapted for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

15th May 2018
AVOID I have been to a few universities but never have I seen such chaos. The learning material is full of errors, my tutor has been rude, vague and unhelpful and missed many mistake when correcting some weekly activities leading me to a lot of confusion. The marking is very inconsistent and my course leader has been very unhelpful. After a year I am looking at moving my credits to another university and probably bring many people from my course with me.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
This is their strong department. They have been so helpful and efficient, quick to answer emails and ever so kind.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

15th May 2018
AVOID I have been to a few universities but never have I seen such chaos. The learning material is full of errors, my tutor has been rude, vague and unhelpful and missed many mistake when correcting some weekly activities leading me to a lot of confusion. The marking is very inconsistent and my course leader has been very unhelpful. After a year I am looking at moving my credits to another university and probably bring many people from my course with me.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
This is their strong department. They have been so helpful and efficient, quick to answer emails and ever so kind.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

10th May 2018
Lecturers are great, location is easy to access, bus service is faultless and the students have a really good vibe
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Mohammed  Khan's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Mohammed Khan

4th May 2018
Course was new to the university, however this lead to it being unorganised therefore my uni experience has been very neutral and wish I did my course at a different university. However I have met so many people at the university from all walks of life and have met amazing friends domestic and international students. Can not wait to graduate from this place and move on to the next stage of my life and just waiting to see where life is going to take me after I graduate.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

1st May 2018
The campus has a very homely feel and everyone is very friendly. My course structure could do with some work but saying that my class is the first class to be on this course so it's a learning curve for all. The content of the course is good and well structured and all lecturers are very informative.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
The student wellbeing block has been my safe place for the last two years. ANd everyone there is so helpful and supportive. My uni experience wouldn't be enjoyable if I didn't have any support for my mental health.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Alice  Russell's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Alice Russell

29th April 2018
Great lecturers who care. Good facilities for food/books/stationary supplies in the main campus, but could be better and cheaper in the smaller campus'. Careers services are good, as long as you make sure you book in advance for meetings.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories

Pages