University of Derby Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars based on 191 reviews
4.1 / 191 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
Campus/University buildings
4.1 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Learning facilities
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Sports facilities
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Student Union
3.4 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Careers service
3.6 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Organisation
3.5 out of 5 stars based on 38 reviews
Inclusivity
3.7 out of 5 stars based on 6 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 reviews
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

15th May 2018
AVOID I have been to a few universities but never have I seen such chaos. The learning material is full of errors, my tutor has been rude, vague and unhelpful and missed many mistake when correcting some weekly activities leading me to a lot of confusion. The marking is very inconsistent and my course leader has been very unhelpful. After a year I am looking at moving my credits to another university and probably bring many people from my course with me.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
This is their strong department. They have been so helpful and efficient, quick to answer emails and ever so kind.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

15th May 2018
AVOID I have been to a few universities but never have I seen such chaos. The learning material is full of errors, my tutor has been rude, vague and unhelpful and missed many mistake when correcting some weekly activities leading me to a lot of confusion. The marking is very inconsistent and my course leader has been very unhelpful. After a year I am looking at moving my credits to another university and probably bring many people from my course with me.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
This is their strong department. They have been so helpful and efficient, quick to answer emails and ever so kind.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Chelsea  Walsh's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Chelsea Walsh

18th March 2018
I love the way the university helps you though your course being supportive and helpful with assessments and housing they have made my uni time easier.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

17th March 2018
Teaching quality is generally of a high standard but need more social events planned by the university - not a great SU
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

17th March 2018
The lectures, students and other staff are all so friendly, the facilities are up to a high standard too. During my course, there have been suggestions made to improve uni life and these have been taken into consideration and acted upon which I think is excellent.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Wellbeing services have spoken to us and are always available to support no matter how big or small.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

15th March 2018
Absolutely amazing University with a wide variety of help and care for students. Lecturers are always willing to help point you in the right direction and the student wellbeing centre is always there to support and help. The library has a vast array of resources and also displays this in the online learning area on Udo.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Absolutely fantastic and extremely supportive. Always there to make an appointment and take their job of student wellbeing above and beyond.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

10th March 2018
The university is a friendly place. Both students are staff are helpful. There are a wide range of facilities available including a gym and even a law court. The student union is fun and purposeful.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Excellent service and staff.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

10th March 2018
Im at the Buxton Campus of this university and I must say that this campus is neglected comparef to what the people at the main building recieve. Our facilities are poor and will not be improved to be at the same standard at the main campus
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th March 2018
I’ve studied Education Studies with Special Educational Needs and Disability for the past 3 years now and I cannot fault the program at all. The university as a whole has a nice homely feeling to it, without feeling too much like you’re at school, as well as being a good distance from the city centre. My lecturers have been nothing but supoortive and accommodating whilst I have been at uni and have always offered me help and support when I have needed it. The uni always does its best to offer a range of events for the students in order to break away from the stresses of their course. Overall I’ve really enjoyed my time here at uni and I’ll be sad to leave when I graduate.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I’ve been very well supported by the health and well-being team regarding my continuous battle with depression so cannot thank them enough for this.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

7th March 2018
Part time student and I’m sonsered . Uni has some good new equipment . It is very good Good Good Good
Campus/University buildings
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

7th March 2018
Amazing place to study and all staff are friendly love everyone in my class
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
Good uni campus and facilities. However my degree is very unorganised. Good sports facilities, however very pricey and hard to access as a student living at home with parents. If I want to use the gym between lectures on only one day of the week (as I go to a gym back home) I’d have to pay £20+ for a day pass. Or £100-200 for the whome year.
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
Not used
Support for international students
N/a
Support and facilities for disabled students
N/a
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
this is a really bad university! Don't go! Poor lecturers, who give the same lecture week in week out. Derby as a city is a bit poo. The career services were really bad also. Wouldn't recommend. Library is good though.
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Chelsea  Walsh's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Chelsea Walsh

3rd March 2018
The university has helped me and made me want to finish my course, they are very encouraging towards people and I live the way my coruse is as t will get me to where I want to
Campus/University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

1st March 2018
Should have more competitions. the teachers are nice. too much nonsense classes that you literally dont need and what are a total waste of time . classes are often cancelled or smt.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
nothing
Health and wellbeing services
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
havent seen any support
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
there are lots of international students. and everybody are ok with them
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
they are ok
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

28th February 2018
Derby uni is in a good location and offers great facilities, particularly for sport, medicine and media. The campuses all offer very good catering facilities, particularly at Keddleston road. Though the sport facilities are very high quality, a swimming pool would be great as the university doesn't have one. The students union is great, though events could be more clearly advertised. There is an insight GP surgery, which works alongside the wellbeing team who offer really great services in a number of ways.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Bursaries for poorer students and those leaving care etc. There are often events such as Black Histiry month and LGBT History month, as well as societies and groups tailored to minority groups such as these. There is also a student union representative specifically did inclusivity.
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services are very good, with university councilers and therapists etc on-site. There is also a very good on-site GP surgery which is of a good quality and is very easily accessible.
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Good support for students who are disabled in a number of different ways, including those with invisible illnesses. Lecturers very accommodating in my experience.
Show Subcategories
Tina Afiqah's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Tina Afiqah

25th February 2018
Kinda unorganised and whenever we ask for dates on graduation our lecturers are always telling us different things. So even that shows they don’t communicate with one another
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
They always say they’re not qualified and that they can’t offer help, only advice
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The staff at the reception for the international student centre is rude. There is one girl who has such an irritable attitude
Support and facilities for disabled students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

24th February 2018
I am studying the foundation degree fdsc mechanical and manufacturing engineering part time at Britannia mill and markeaton street
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

24th February 2018
The uni is great and offers a range of opportunities such as student rep, studying abroad etc. There is a lot of support available.
Campus/University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

22nd February 2018
The university is good, there are plenty of activities for students to get engaged in. There are three campuses directed at different courses. The campus I go to is relatively now and could be upgraded
Campus/University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories

Pages