University of Gloucestershire Reviews

User
ranking
81/354

University of Gloucestershire Reviews

4.1 / 163 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Star
    2
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

23rd January 2018
The campus isn't massive but it's easy to get around it as well as the town and surrounding areas. Plenty to do in town too.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
The campus is very large and friendly. I get along with everyone I see and there USB always some member of staff to talk to I if I need assistance.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
The university has some great facilities, however it lacks in some places and depth. Maybe in the are of the students union, not the most important factor of the uni as a whole, but that may be important to some students main choices
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

29th January 2018
The university of Gloucestershire is a local university to me. I’m currently studying at the FCH campus and I believe this campus is the worst campus of the 3 in regards to its facilities and parking. The university student union is a major positive as it provides a stable platform for advice and feedback to be given/gathered. Overall my university experience has not lived up to what I expected, the course I study was presented as something that it is not, however being on my 3 year I’m hopefully and confident that the university will provide me the platform to gain my degree.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The university is over all very good! The SU offer lots of opportunities for various extra curriculum things via email and are always here when you need to speak to them! My course is amazing! Lecturers are very supportive and are happy to help with anything we need!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Good access and always told in freshers were it is and given information about how to enrol
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Hannah Stubbs's picture

Hannah Stubbs

17th November 2017
The university campus is really beautiful and there are plenty of available recourses to use to help with studying. The lectures are all really interesting and the lecturers are really engaged and always reply to queries quickly.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Imogen Hughes-Tait's picture

Imogen Hughes-Tait

1st December 2017
Lovely campuses, especially the ones in Cheltenham. Perfect place to study if you're new to living away from home as its a moderately busy town with good night life. Very supportive enthusiastic teachers who will go out of their way to help you achieve your best if you ask them for help. Friendly student union who are very in-tune with what students want too! Facilities are fantastic, plus if you do think there's something else you want to have access to they'll do all they can to make that happen.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
The on-campus doctor was very useful, they've heard all the stories from fresher's flu to gawd knows what else & they were fantastic in helping me get better. Having the doctors on campus also made it less intimidating to book my appointment as I already knew my way around.
Support for international students: 
I went on an exchange semester to Canada thanks to Glos, and the staff were as helpful as they could be (a lot of the work was done by myself though, so be prepared to be independent!)
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

7th December 2017
Lovely campus, my classes are really small so we always get time with teachers. Lovely staff and great atmosphere
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th November 2017
The Francis close hall campus is the most beautiful campus I’ve ever been and well maintained. However, switch for lighting in some rooms were not designed wisely. They have quite good sports facilities but they are only available in Gloucester which can be inconvenient at times for those leaving in Cheltenham. The future plan team (career service) is very supportive and gives constructive advices. Students’ union team has been quite friendly and helpful as well. I occasionally find jobs posted by students’ union. Total organisation has been alright because I’m not very sure about it
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
I have not used the support so can’t rate but heard from friend in another campus the doctor service is quite good and easily accessible because there is a clinic in that campus but not in Francis close hall. We don’t really know the process of going to the doctors in the uk
Support for international students: 
General support for my Year was good except for accommodation. It was helpful to be able to settle in immediately after arriving but I didn’t expect to pay huge amount of money for things I was not responsible for. Every student living in the halls or university managed housing is guaranteed to pay a certain amount of ‘damage compensation’ despite some of them have cleaned the place thoroughly and on others’ behalf
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Not applicable but from observation, they constantly promote sport activities for the disabled and there are lifts and door opening buttons provided although some places have too many doors
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th November 2017
University park campus is great, large green grass area for relaxing and working outside in summer! Building is old in places but resources are new. Library is massive, full of all of the resources that you would need, selection of computers and Mac to use. Student uni is a nice size and can relax with friends and play pool. Love that we have a student union shop with a student rep always present to help you and talking things through. Such a variety of cources to choose from!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
I like that we have a student doctors surgery on campus, very helpful in there and will try their best to accommodate students with quick appointments.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
I can’t talk about his University enough. They really get to know every single student on a personal basis and get the best out of you. They have so many good quality job opportunities and amazing places to do your placements. The staff are brilliant, campuses are beautiful and I wish I was starting now, as they have invested so much in new facilities.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Always there to help you, 24hour phoneline for any needs.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Stacey Heydon's picture

Stacey Heydon

15th November 2017
I've had the BEST university experience coming to the University of Gloucestershire. Although it is a small university surrounded by a small town, it has a wonderful feeling of community - both student and residential. It is easy to talk to your tutors and lecturers if necessary and help is always available through use of the help zones. Your Future Plan allows the student union to put forward possible career and event opportunities to get involved in - making contacts more accessible which is beneficial upon graduating.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

21st November 2017
The library is create for when I have deadlines approaching due to the huge range of books available. I feel like the refectory should be open for longer as it seems to be closed around 2ish when it says it would be closing later. The food is really good there though and at a really affordable price. Such a wide selection and changes every day.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
They have many services for students struggling, especially in the first year, to fit in.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
Good uni, lacking in organisation sometimes but lovely library and facilities. It's a very pretty campus so it's very enjoyable to be around. Refectory serves descent food, not too expensive either.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Leaves a lot to be desired. Quite minimal services with long waiting times.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

20th February 2018
The uni as a whole is very good. The park campus especially is a nige place to study. Some subject are better taught that others and the SU could do with some improvements.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

8th March 2018
They don't do what they said they did on the inductions, feel like I've been lead on. There is also mass favouritism with lecturers
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Health services are provided but the hours are extremely tight
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th February 2018
Helpful with mental health and overall health issues, not so great with issues with your course as they try to tell you that there aren't these issues as other years have not had these issues. Great facilities.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th February 2018
It’s good Really far away Open when snow storms Lecturers don’t help with assignments as much as they should Need help with further reading from lectures Talk to fast to take notes
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anna  McAteer's picture

Anna McAteer

22nd February 2018
I commute, so arguably do not have the full, authentic uni experience, but it is not that that is important to me. I got out of a mind-numbing job, and was desperate to use my brain again. This need has been well and truly met through a diverse and original curriculum, provided by passionate tutors. There are good resources, and my campus is truly beautiful
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
I know it is available and active
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd July 2018
History course doesn't provide a lot of flexibility in terms of the topics covered, feedback can vary in usefulness. Lecturers are mostly approachable and friendly. Decent employability team and opportunities for internships or extra training. The wellbeing and disability team are pretty good although there is often a huge waiting list for these services if you don't get in with them at the start. Francis Close Hall campus is gorgeous, and in a really good location close to town. Not much parking. Facilities are well kept and modern. Student union bar is fairly cheap and cosy, lots going on.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Really good service, especially the crisis worker, but long waiting lists can make it difficult if you need help imminently.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional