The University of Surrey Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars based on 191 reviews
4.0 / 191 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
6
1 Star
3
Campus/University buildings
4.3 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Learning facilities
4.2 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Sports facilities
4.6 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Student Union
3.9 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Organisation
3.8 out of 5 stars based on 61 reviews
Inclusivity
4.3 out of 5 stars based on 11 reviews
Health and Wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 11 reviews
Support for international students
4.6 out of 5 stars based on 5 reviews
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 7 reviews
Show Subcategories
Latest Reviews
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

10th July 2018
Great university, huge campus, very pretty lake loads of trees, 24/7 library and very friendly library staff would highly recommend
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th July 2018
So glad I decided to come to Surrey! The campus is beautiful and in such a good location; everything you need is within walking distance (or at most a short bus/car ride away), and not too far for a daytrip into London or the south-coast. For me, the campus and town are a perfect size, not too large but there is still plenty to do and the nightlife is fantastic. Surrey Sports Park boasts amazing facilities. The student union is great, with a wide range of sports and societies on offer. Being a Chemistry student I have found the teaching facilities, staff-quality, course organisation, careers services and just about every other aspect of life at Surrey to be of a really high standard.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The centre for wellbeing offers a great deal of support and advice for all students, with specialist therapists and counsellors for all areas of mental health.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
The Additional Learning Support team are well organised, and gave me all the support I needed for coping with my degree right from the start.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

2nd July 2018
The campus is lovely and green, it’s quite large but easily navigable. The facilities in several of its departmental buildings are a bit run down due to their age and have limited availability of natural light. The library is really good though
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

2nd July 2018
Really welcoming atmosphere, excellent facilities including the sports park. Plenty of clubs and societies to choose from.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

28th June 2018
If your looking for a campus university Surrey is great. It's campus isn't too concrete looking with a large lake and green spaces. While some of the newer accommodation is further away the halls right on campus are aged and often cramped. Personally I didn't mind the older accommodation to be a 2 minute walk to my lectures. Overall I enjoyed my experience, the placement year was the best for me and has resulted in employment in the end of my degree.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Very good services at the wellbeing centre.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

28th June 2018
The university on a whole has been okay. Teaching methods aren’t the best, and when i say this i mean I learned a lot more from being in sixth form/ college. Although it is on the come up, they haven’t improved facilities for students such as; Wifi all over campus, 24 hour corner shop when it is exam season so you can camp out in the library if you need to study more. ( our library is also 24hrs). There are many ways to meet people as well, as they offer free languages classes and societies to allow you to learn about other peoples cultures/experiences.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

19th June 2018
Lots of facilities however the campus is getting over crowded as there are too many courses and not enough buildings. Day time it’s hard to find a place in the library and often hard to find some where to sit for lunch due to the high capacity of students.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Relativity good for mental health having the wellbeing centre on sight however you can’t always get time out of class to go to your appointment which can be annoying especially if you have waited a few weeks in advanced for a time.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

19th June 2018
One of the main reasons why I chose University of Surrey is because of its one-of-a-kind campus! The campus is so green, modern and big! The university buildings and lecture theaters are new and spacious. The university is located in Guildford, which is the perfect clean and safe student town with an 30 minutes train trip to Central London! The Students Union organizes events throughout the week every week, including night club parties in Rubix such as Citrus and Flirt! There is a Careers Centre where every student can get a CV check, practice a mock interview or just receive advice how and where to find a job/internship for your work placement. The organisation of Freshers' Week was definitely amazing with the numerous events every day! Another amazing opportunity which the university provides, it is an international exchange program for one or two semesters at different universities depending on the course. I went to University of Central Florida for one semester from where I have the best memories ever! Strongly recommend University of Surrey!
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There is a bursary and financial help available to students from poorer backgrounds.
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
If you need to see the GP, you need to wait for an appointment 2 to 3 weeks.
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There are many bursaries and financial help for UK students but not for EU and international students which it is a big disadvantage.
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I think there is disabled access to any building and lecture theatre in the campus.
Show Subcategories
Marie-Adelaide Couffon's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Marie-Adelaide ...

16th June 2018
I am an international student. I felt welcomed but also challenged by the new culture. It made me stronger but as well keen to learn and explore England as a whole!
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Marie Adelaide  Couffon's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Marie Adelaide ...

16th June 2018
The university has a wide range of diversity which made me feel welcomed and valued. I enjoyed meeting new people but as well learning about England as whole. Surrey is the best location to learn and experience the British culture !
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

12th June 2018
The sports park is quite a trek from the University campus, but it is a decent facility. If using for just working out, I would suggest a different gym because it gets quite busy and there are not enough weights. Each course has amazing orginasation and requires little on the students part. However, because I am an international exchange student, I had to do most of the organisational work myself not knowing who to go to for help. The lecture theatures are very quality with a lot of them recording the lectures as well. The lectures are well qualified and are very knowlageable in thier fields. I had no issues with the student union.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I have ADHD and I had no help from the doctor. When I had to issue an extenuating circumstances form, I had to pay the GP office £20. This only added to the struggle I was going through. Also the appointments are extremely short. Being an international student, I had some extreme anxiety and homesickness due to not knowing anyone here. When I requested a councilor appointment, the first avalible spot was in a months time. My application included my fight with wanting to commit suicide and I had to wait a month.
Support for international students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I am an international exchange student. So the following only appies to exchange. The normal international students did not seem to have these issues. I never had a point of contact for when I had any issues. I had to figure everything out myself. No one checked up on me either. I also had to orginise each module I was taking with no help from the staff. This University should not be accepting exchange students if they do not have someone helping the students.
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

11th June 2018
Course is good as there are many different texts, however response to strike action this year has been poor. No suggestion of more lax marking to make up for lack of teaching time. No reduced essay word count. Staff mostly helpful
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th June 2018
In 2016, when I applied for it, it was top 10 in the UK, and now it dropped to around 20. My programme is not well-organized and I hate it. And GSA new open a programme MA Stage Management in 2018, pls dont come and its really new. Unless you want to be an actor, its fine to come the GSA.
Campus / University buildings
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
2.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3 times for consultation only.
Support for international students
1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Only help you with yoir visa.
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Best sports park
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

9th June 2018
I think the support you receive here in terms of academia, societies is really great! The campus aspect of truly one of the best things about Surrey! The town is super clean and nice and accessible! However, the housing prices ridiculously high and not affordable for students at all!
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Very inclusive
Health and wellbeing services
There’s a well being centre!
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

8th June 2018
Loved my time teacher great education , Learnt a lot and good grades the night life could be better but great facilities and new resources that helped me i Yh my time there met lots of friends but missed home a lot lots of ways to help with stress n support
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Great
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

7th June 2018
Decent location. Not too far from London. Good facilities, nice library. Fun course (Physics). Student union is quite active, making a difference to university experience. Career services are useful.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support for international students
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

6th June 2018
I am a first year Tourism Management student. The lectures are quite good and I am excited to see what it will be 2 year
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
I personally have not used it but from all the promotions it is quite a big topic among uni students and anyone know that they can receive free and anonymous help.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

4th June 2018
Well equipped, and modern university. Coming into my final year and there have been quite a few changes since being at the university. For example the library has undergone renovations, where the facilities have been extended and improved. The course I am on has a full timetable with a massive array of lessons, with very qualified teachers. The university supports students in every kind of way, emotionally and academically.
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
Health and wellbeing services
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Well being centre on campus available for all students who have any difficulties.
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Anonymous

4th June 2018
Lovely univeristy, made me feel welcome when I arrived. Teachers are very invested and the campus is absolutely beautiful. Lovely green and fresh air, a great place to live for 3 years. I really love my course and freshers week was amazing fun. They are moving towards fixing timetabljngbissues which I appreciate and are constantly asking for feedback for further improvements which makes me feel like my opinion matters.
Campus / University buildings
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
4.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
There is a bursary for poorer students that I receive which I really appreciate as t allows me to be able to live in a Guildford
Health and wellbeing services
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Very good support, always available when needed
Support for international students
Support and facilities for disabled students
3.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Not applicable. I don’t know much about this.
Show Subcategories
Jawad Miakhail's picture
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review

Jawad Miakhail

30th May 2018
It’s great place to study and has everything you ask for beautiful place and friendly staffs and people Good service available do do
Campus / University buildings
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Learning facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Sports facilities
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Student Union
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Careers service
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Organisation
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Inclusivity
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
All welcome
Health and wellbeing services
Friendly staff ,
Support for international students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Has all types of support
Support and facilities for disabled students
5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 review
Has everything Ramps
Show Subcategories

Pages