York St John University Reviews

User
ranking
60/354

York St John University Reviews

4.2 / 132 reviews
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Star
    4
  • 0 Stars
    0
Campus/University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and Wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

12th February 2018
Great friendly uni. Many good aspects of the uni and good facilities. The lecture halls are big and well enough equipped to hold groups of hindered of students
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

25th January 2018
Facilities are not the best I’ve seen but you can always use them unlike most universities with huge waiting lists. Small SU but everyone is friendly and helpful.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

24th January 2018
Love the uni everyone is so friendly! Facilities on campus are great, the accommodation a little walk away with the nightlife being good too.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th February 2018
The university itself has the most stunning campus that I have seen. The buildings are set out well and it is easy to find where you’re going and is hard to get lost. My course is Psychology and I feel that I have learnt a lot during my first semester as I am now knowledgable on many areas.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

10th February 2018
Great location, very friendly staff. The other students are very easy to get along with. The lecture halls are the best I’ve seen. Great location for going out on a night too lots of bars clubs and pubs
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
The campus is nice enough, the facilities for illustration are not very good at all, illustration course is very disorganised, the uni’s overall organisation is not great, but maybe my expectations were too high I’m not sure
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th November 2017
I love this uni, I'm in my first year and so far I've found it super easy to find my self around, the food on campus is amazing and it's a fairly good price for what you get. The student union is modern, cozy and super cheap, especially pound a pint! Their freshers week was amazing and the events they put on throughout the year are a good laugh. Everyone here is so friednsly and helpful and it's location to city centre is perfect, not too close and definitely not too far to walk. The buildings are a mix between new and modern and historical to fit into York's past. My course is criminology with police studies and so far so good! It's interesting and the teachers are great too! There is plenty of help on and off campus if you need help with anything, be it careers advice, your accommodation, or just general uni questions, there's always someone to help. If you're in student accommodation there's a 24/7 security team that are on campus too. Would 100% recommend this uni to my younger friends.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I myself am from a poorer background and I haven't ever felt excluded. There is a food bank on campus if you are struggling to support yourself and the student funding team are really helpful in helping you budget your money in the best way and helping you if you're really short on money.
Health and wellbeing services: 
There is a doctors surgery on campus so you don't have to walk far at all, and the doctor there was friendly and professional and the lady at the desk was really helpful in finding me an appointment that fitted my timetable best.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

17th November 2017
YSJ is a great uni! The staff on my course are so supportive and helpful. My favourite place at uni is the library because there is such a great studious but relaxed atmosphere!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Jake Ord's picture

Jake Ord

22nd February 2018
Overall a good uni just sometimes bit annoying coz of other corses thinking they are more important than others.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Make everyone feel welcome
Health and wellbeing services: 
Just first class
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

23rd February 2018
Geography course is very good and includes a large range of topics. The organisation of the university could be improved
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
York St. John is a beautiful university, it reminds me of harry otter with its old buildings! Yet it still has the modern side equiped with everything you need. The staff are all so helpful and friendly, as are the students!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th March 2018
The campus is amazing, but very small. The quad is gorgeous in the summer though. In terms of facilities, it's quite limited as YSJ is a small uni. But the library is big enough for what we need. My course (Geography) and all the staff involved are exceptional.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

15th March 2018
York St John is a small uni, but that gives it a very homely and warm feel. The facilities are great for my course (physio) having two labs full of equipment required to set us up for placement and teach us everything we may need. The tutors are great and willing to answer any questions if you have any, and would be willing to help you out if you feel behind or in trouble.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I’m not in either of these categories, however, I have seen loads of posters and received many emails that would be applicable to these people. They direct them to places that they can find support if they so wish and encourage clubs and meet ups.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

3rd March 2018
The campus is very close together so it is very easy to get to other buildings. It is situated near the town which I see as a plus. I study history and it is very independent however you are aided in any help you need with the staff being available.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

14th March 2018
Great uni, very community based, warm feeling, friendly staff, great facilities however could do with more study space, more societies could be beneficial too. Students Union could improve nights and pricing too.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Megan Barber's picture

Megan Barber

14th June 2018
The campus is beautiful, I looks like hogwarts! The new buildings are amazing too and it’s right in the city centre so you’re never too far away from anything! The facilities are excellent, catering for all types of disabilities etc. State of the art library and online systems which makes studying much easier. The SU is pretty new and rebuilt and it’s superb. With so many different nights on for the students and are always open to lend a helping hand and send fortnightly emails to keep all the students updated on what’s happened around campus and the next big event. For careers services, I haven’t had much experience myself, but I am a student representative for my course so I know that this is something that comes under them, along with putting on study sessions, academic writing sessions and so on. They have drop in and appointment based sessions and are always welcoming right at the heart of campus. My experience so far has been amazing! I’ve never felt out of place.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There is a lot of this at YSJ! There is a LGBT society and full on support whether it is financially, personally, Home life etc.
Health and wellbeing services: 
They have an oncapus docotor who is easy to get a hold of. They promote mental health support throughout the year too.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
All doors on campus are wheelchair accessible and there is brail throught the uni.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

13th August 2018
YSJ is a fab uni. We have a great looking campus, a three storey library, and amazing lecturers. The student union has something going on every night e.g movie nights, pound a pint, doubles for singles, quiz nights, karaoke and more!
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

26th June 2018
My course is Primary Education upper BA hons. The course itself is very good, I’ve felt as though I’ve been supported as much as I can be and have enjoyed the modules as they clearly relate to a specific job so there’s no feel of “what’s the point”. The students union has recently been refurbished and is lovely! It’s a shame it’s a small university as there aren’t any live bands or gigs there. The library is 24/7 and there’s so much technical and academic help there. The gym is tiny and there’s no pool unfortunately. I’ve been very pleased with my experience however the nightlife isn’t the best.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
I live with the head of the LGBT society and there are so many things to offer. Support, socials. He’s never not busy and has loads of mates, so inclusive and lovely
Health and wellbeing services: 
On site doctors and they are fast with lots of appointments. Really easy location and simple to apply.
Support for international students: 
There seems to be lots of international students however I’m not sure about support.
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
I see a lot of students being offered this support and it seems there’s a lot of help offered however I have no first hand experience.
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

18th June 2018
The campus is so small which allows it to have a really good feel to it and you feel like a student rather than a number. The lecturers are always on board to help. The university also deals with mental health really well.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
Health and wellbeing services: 
Mental health service here is absolutely brilliant they couldn’t do any more for you
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Show Subcategories
Anonymous's picture

Anonymous

16th June 2018
York St John is a small, friendly university. The staff and students are welcoming and there’s always something going on at the SU. The campus and university accommodation are above average and placed very close to the city of York. The city itself is quite small but there’s always things going on. Not the biggest, loudest nightlife but the events and clubs that we do have are always busy and fun. I’ve had a great three years here and would reccomend to anyone who wants the university life without moving to a massive city.
Campus / University buildings: 
Learning facilities: 
Sports facilities: 
Student Union: 
Careers service: 
Organisation: 
Inclusivity: 
There are always campaigns running I support different charities/causes. Very inclusive atmosphere and all students feel valued and supported. As part of the LGBT community I can say that I have never felt discriminated against by any staff or students.
Health and wellbeing services: 
Always able to make an appointment efficiently and if they are unable to see you they transfer you to a nearby doctors. Very friendly and approachable.
Support for international students: 
Support and facilities for disabled students: 
Access is available into many if not all buildings.
Show Subcategories

Pages

additional